Seafood Mocequa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Wow! We loved it. I used clam sauce, mussels and tilapia. It's really important to cut the fish into large chunks so they don't fall apart when turning in the pot. It makes a large amount, and would be an easy hosting dish. So full of flavor and so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I really loved this recipe but did make some adaptations based on previous suggestions and my own taste/availability. I used catfish, shrimp, and clams. I also tripled the liquid. I didn't have fish stock so I used clam juice from the canned clams for half of the liquid and water for the other half. Of course I increased Tabasco because of the added liquid. I also seasoned a bit more with curry powder (I scaled the recipe to 1 and used 1/2 tsp. so I assume 2 tsp. for full recipe). I also didn't have green onions but substituted with chives. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe - delicious and versatile. I adjusted the serving size to make more servings than people, and was glad I did as it was all eaten. Rather than shrimp and white fish, I used salmon pieces and baby octopus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is a really easy to follow version of the Brazilian stew. I highly recommend using the dende (palm) oil, it gives the stew a wonderful flavor you won't have with another oil. It is that flavor that makes this stew something different from any other seafood stew. I serve it with coconut milk rice and cilantro....very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Pretty good but still lacking in the strong flavor I was looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I made this as part of my family Easter Sunday Lunch. I didn't have an Dende Oil, and I spiced it WAY down so my kids could partake of the meal. It was so tasty and so flavourful that almost everyone (including my kids) had seconds, AND they ate it alone, almost like a soup/broth. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Not impressed at all! I followed this recipe pretty close and it seriously lacked flavor. The only thing I did differently was used clam juice instead of the fish stock as I could not find it. As I was cooking this dish I just knew it was going to be a hit. It looked good and smelled great. But was a big disappointment. I will not be making his again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Absolutely excellent and easy to make. Highly recommended...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was such a different dish. All the unique flavours combined were great! it! Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This is absolutely delicious! It's one of our favorites. I do make a little more broth sometimes if I want to add rice. I'll make Jasmine rice separately, then add a couple tbps full to each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love To Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States