Seafood Melange Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
It was ok. Was disappointed w/ myself that I did not use all fresh ingredients, instead I used canned crabmeat so even though the taste was very good knowing that made me not like it as much. Of course this is not the fault of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
The flavor of this recipe was excellent, however, I made more sauce than was called for because it looked dry after I poured the sauce over it. As a result I got a 'soupy' texture to it - i.e. too much sauce. It would have been good over rice or noodles the way that I prepared it. Also I added sauted mushrooms and a bit of onion and a couple of chopped (cooked) bacon slices to it and it really gave a great flavor and more meaty base. Finally I cooked it too long so the shrimp were rubbery. The next time I make it I will add the raw seafood to the sauce to cook briefly and then put it in a cassarole dish and then melt the cheese briefly under the broiler. Whew ! I guess I changed things around quite a bit but the flavor was outstanding and my guests all really enjoyed it. I served it with asparagus and small round roasted parisienne potatoes. Thanks - I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
This was so delicious we couldn't stop eating! I believe I may serve this at my Mother's day brunch since both our moms are seafood lovers.May substitute chunks of lobster for the scallops. I added a couple tablespoons of white wine and some green onion to the sauce for a bit of a zing!Yummy! Thanks Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This was delicious! I used imitation crab instead of real and Tilipia Filets in place of Sole as they were not available. Sprinkled all of the fish with Black & Cayenne Pepper, Garlic Powder, Chipolte Pepper and Old Bay Seasoning..Wow, did that make your taste buds sing! For the sauce, I just sprayed with "I can't believe it's not butter." It does take longer to bake than the directions because it is so thick...I cooked it for 30 minutes. My husband just loved it. Served with Sesame Asparagus from this site. In fact, we are having it for dinner again tonight. Thanks for great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I added saltine cracker crumbs with a little melted butter to place on top before entering the oven in 18oz au cratin dishes. This gives a little extra taste and colorful appearance. The sauce is perfect and the array of seafood mixes the taste buds up just right so as to offset the richness. Outstanding recipe! (no Campbells salty soup, all natural from scratch!) 3 guests demanded this recipe and they also took remaining portions home (A+). Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
This is delicious. I did cheat though, the sauce recipe looked like hollandaise sauce, so I used a pre-packaged mix and added a couple teaspoons of lemon juice when the sauce was done. I don't know, but the packaged stuff might cut some of the calories/fat. Baking time was a little longer than stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I've made this a few times now and I always have success with it. I do use a packaged Hollandaise sauce, but the recipe goes together so quickly and yet the final product looks like you fussed for hours. I've gotten lots of compliments on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Outstanding! I made this for Mother's Day dinner and my family loved it. It was easy to set up ahead of time and just do the sauce at the last minute. Thanks for such a wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was terrific! I fixed this last night, but have to admit to adding a couple of things. I sauteed some FRESH SPINACH and SQUEEZED all the liquid out of it. I topped the seafood with the spinach and cheese. I made the sauce just as directed, drizzling ALL BUT 2 TBS of it over the top. I PUT THE REMAINING TWO TBS OF SAUCE INTO A BOWL AND MIXED ABOUT 1 CUP OF PANKO BREAD CRUMBS IN IT AND CRUMBLED IT ON TOP OF THE SEAFOOD, CHEESE AND SPINACH. Another word of advice, pan fry the shrimp for just about 2 minutes per side in butter, the scallops about 3 minutes per side and the thin fish fillets about 4 minutes per side. I also sprinkled "Old Bay Seasoning" on the seafood as it was frying in butter. Cooking the seafood first will help keep water from accumulating in the dish (soupy). I baked it at 450 (convection oven) for about 8 minutes. The crunchy topping really makes a difference. IT IS A MUST THAT YOU USE ALL FRESH INGREDIENTS FOR SUCCESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States