Seafood Melange Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was terrific! I fixed this last night, but have to admit to adding a couple of things. I sauteed some FRESH SPINACH and SQUEEZED all the liquid out of it. I topped the seafood with the spinach and cheese. I made the sauce just as directed, drizzling ALL BUT 2 TBS of it over the top. I PUT THE REMAINING TWO TBS OF SAUCE INTO A BOWL AND MIXED ABOUT 1 CUP OF PANKO BREAD CRUMBS IN IT AND CRUMBLED IT ON TOP OF THE SEAFOOD, CHEESE AND SPINACH. Another word of advice, pan fry the shrimp for just about 2 minutes per side in butter, the scallops about 3 minutes per side and the thin fish fillets about 4 minutes per side. I also sprinkled "Old Bay Seasoning" on the seafood as it was frying in butter. Cooking the seafood first will help keep water from accumulating in the dish (soupy). I baked it at 450 (convection oven) for about 8 minutes. The crunchy topping really makes a difference. IT IS A MUST THAT YOU USE ALL FRESH INGREDIENTS FOR SUCCESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This tasted good but I don't think the 1/2 cup of butter was necessary, it was way too much! Next time I will try making the egg mixture with 2 tbsp melted butter, 2 tbsp white wine & mixing it with the seafood before putting it into the serving dishes. Then sprinkle cheese on top. As it was, the seafood was swimming in melted butter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I think this might be my first time I have ever rated a recipe. I just felt like I had to. The flavors were spot on and the whole dish was EXCELLENT!!! I did add some onion powder, garlic poweder and pepper. The flavors were amazing. Well definely do again. Thanks so much for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I've made this a few times now and I always have success with it. I do use a packaged Hollandaise sauce, but the recipe goes together so quickly and yet the final product looks like you fussed for hours. I've gotten lots of compliments on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andi
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
it was perfect. I've found too little the quantity of the sauce, so I've mixed 200 ml lightly beaten cream to it. The end result is some creamy, light, heavenly miracle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Szeged, Csongrád, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I used packaged hollandaise sauce as well. I also added asparagus to it before I baked it and I omitted the shrimp as I didn't have any on hand. It was good, but not my favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prithy3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Disappointing! I should have listened to the review about the sauce separating. After cooking, the butter seperated in the sauce so everything was sitting in oil. It was way to rich, but not in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This tasted like nothing more than egg yolks to us. I ended up ordering takeout. I was so disappointed because I was really looking forward to this combination. Maybe the person who used the sauce packet has the right idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Loved this recipe, we all did. I did not have crab meat and instead of sole, I used flounder. Also, I subsituted cheddar cheese. It worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States