Seafood Melange Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This was delicious! I used imitation crab instead of real and Tilipia Filets in place of Sole as they were not available. Sprinkled all of the fish with Black & Cayenne Pepper, Garlic Powder, Chipolte Pepper and Old Bay Seasoning..Wow, did that make your taste buds sing! For the sauce, I just sprayed with "I can't believe it's not butter." It does take longer to bake than the directions because it is so thick...I cooked it for 30 minutes. My husband just loved it. Served with Sesame Asparagus from this site. In fact, we are having it for dinner again tonight. Thanks for great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
This was so delicious we couldn't stop eating! I believe I may serve this at my Mother's day brunch since both our moms are seafood lovers.May substitute chunks of lobster for the scallops. I added a couple tablespoons of white wine and some green onion to the sauce for a bit of a zing!Yummy! Thanks Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
This is delicious. I did cheat though, the sauce recipe looked like hollandaise sauce, so I used a pre-packaged mix and added a couple teaspoons of lemon juice when the sauce was done. I don't know, but the packaged stuff might cut some of the calories/fat. Baking time was a little longer than stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
This recipe is wonderful for a dinner party. My only suggestion is to leave out the sole. It was a little to overpowering with the sole. The scallops and shrimp stand out enough in the dish. Next time I also plan to sautee the scallops. They seemed a bit cool after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I added saltine cracker crumbs with a little melted butter to place on top before entering the oven in 18oz au cratin dishes. This gives a little extra taste and colorful appearance. The sauce is perfect and the array of seafood mixes the taste buds up just right so as to offset the richness. Outstanding recipe! (no Campbells salty soup, all natural from scratch!) 3 guests demanded this recipe and they also took remaining portions home (A+). Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
The flavor of this recipe was excellent, however, I made more sauce than was called for because it looked dry after I poured the sauce over it. As a result I got a 'soupy' texture to it - i.e. too much sauce. It would have been good over rice or noodles the way that I prepared it. Also I added sauted mushrooms and a bit of onion and a couple of chopped (cooked) bacon slices to it and it really gave a great flavor and more meaty base. Finally I cooked it too long so the shrimp were rubbery. The next time I make it I will add the raw seafood to the sauce to cook briefly and then put it in a cassarole dish and then melt the cheese briefly under the broiler. Whew ! I guess I changed things around quite a bit but the flavor was outstanding and my guests all really enjoyed it. I served it with asparagus and small round roasted parisienne potatoes. Thanks - I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Loved it !! Although, my scallops were not completly thawed, so I did have a little water on the bottom, my fault though. Maybe a little more sauce next time, and it is THE perfect dish. My husband thanks you !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
So simple, yet so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This was very good. It was very delicate an impresive dish to serve to company. Everyone loved it. Will be making this lots. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
It was ok. Was disappointed w/ myself that I did not use all fresh ingredients, instead I used canned crabmeat so even though the taste was very good knowing that made me not like it as much. Of course this is not the fault of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States