Seafood Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
My family LOVES this recipe (minus the 16-year-old son who hates almost everything but pizza). I even impressed MIL and SIL who thought they'd hate it because they don't like scallops. They took seconds ;-) !! This is one of the few things my husband will request if I haven't made it in a while. I make this recipe as a way to use up fresh vegetables I have on hand. I make a few small changes when I make this. 1) I use an extra 1/2 cup of cold milk with the flour to thicken the sauce. Using the hot milk from the pan makes the flour mixture gummy; 2) I use 3 cloves of garlic, minced, and saute with the onion; 3) I add 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese after the flour/milk combination to thicken it a bit more and punch up the flavor. Make sure to use plenty of salt and pepper as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I'm sorry... I hate to give a negative review, given how much effort it takes to come up with a recipe and submit it. However, this recipe amounts to boiling your vegetables and seafood in milk. The onion and garlic BARELY come through and the sauce was SO runny. To let it "thicken," as the recipe advises, would have taken so long that the vegetables and seafood would have been way overcooked. Putting a little Bay Seasoning on it at the end helped a bit with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
yum!! this dish is filling, delicious, and surprisingly pretty low fat. i didn't follow the recipe at all as far as veggie measurements went-- i added lots more, as i'm a huge vegetable fan, and they truly make the meal! i also left out the scallops and used more shrimp and imitation crab meat. with all the different colored veggies, it is a beautiful dish. thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
This recipe was a nice light meal. I cut it in half for my fiance and I to enjoy. We are thinking of even leaving out the scallops next time and adding some more veggies to make an even healthier meal! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I thought this recipe was great.Was a big hit in my family.We all love seafood and veggies so it went over very well.I do suggest substituting the milk with 2 cups heavy cream and 1 cup 1%milk.Gives it a thicker sauce but makes it just right if you add some milk to it.Great dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This came out a bit bland. Will definitely need more spices next time. Sauce needs to be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This dish didn't have much flavor. I added more garlic and some cheese and it was still bland. It never really thickened either. My kids loved it though, but they love anything with noodles. I might make it again, but spice it up a little. And next time I will probably use cream instead of milk. It might add more fat, but I'm sure it will add more flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
We love seafood in my house. Adding a few substitutes such as more fresh garlic, fresh basil and fresh grated parmigiano-reggiano cheese:) I substitued the milk for half and half and also used cornstarch instead of flour. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
This was delicious! I omitted the scallops (the store had run out)and added more shrimp. Very easy to make, and as good as the seafood pasta dishes at the Olive Garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States