Seafood Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
WOW! I made this while on vacation with friends on the Outer Banks. Everyone loved this. I added a few things, which turned it into a mega-lasagna, or The Lasagna That Ate New York. I used a pound of lump crab, bay scallops, and shrimp in separate layers. I also added a layer of ricotta cheese mixed with a couple of beaten eggs. For the sauce I took the water I used to boil the shrimp, added a little white wine, and reduced it to about one cup. I started the sauce with the butter/flour roux, gradually added milk, shrimp reduction, and half-and-half. I also added Old Bay seasoning, paprika, a few dashes of Tabasco, and some basil. Total liquid was approximately five cups, but I was making a big lasagna. I added the grated parmesan to the sauce last. I layered in this order between the pasta: crabmeat, ricotta, scallops, shrimp. The scallops were small so I did not need to pre-cook them. It's important to let this rest 15-20 minutes after removing from the oven so your lasagna squares will hold together when serving. This made a fantastic dinner with garlic bread and a mixed green & romaine salad. Thanks for making everyone happy at the dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2000
I tried this recipe on a crowd of family members for my son's confirmation party (I never do new reicpes on my family they are very picky) They raved about it and all asked for the recipe. I also added 3 tsp. of Old Bay season ( a Maryland thing) to the white sauce and a layer of ricotta cheese (2 cups ricotta cheese, 1 cup shredded mozerrella, 2 tsp. parsley, 1 egg and of course 2 tsp. Old Bay season)in between the seafood layers.....What a hit! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
This recipe is a great idea. I liked the taste, but I added 2 Tbsp. Old Bay to the white sauce, as someone suggested. That was too much, and it made the dish too salty. Next time I'll add only 1 Tbsp. Like any lasagna, it's a time-consuming dish, but it's well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Loved the recipe and will definitely be making this again. This is what I did: I added some garlic powder (~2 tsp) to the sauce. My pan was a little bigger, so I only had two layers plus the top. I also slightly chopped the shrimp with my mini food processor. Added just a touch of parsley on the top before baking. It turned out FABULOUS! This recipe is a must try if you enjoy seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
this is a nice lasagne if you're looking for something elegant. I added a layer of spinach, though, for color. Also, I wouldn't recommend baking the entire 45 min., that was way too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Very tasty! I made the modifications as others mentioned. I added 2 tsp garlic pwd, salt & papper, 1/2 tsp Old Bay. I only used 2 cups of mozarella & added 1 cup of Ricotta, I made it in a 9x9 stoneware pan but used the full batch of sauce - it was too runny - next time will use less sauce by maybe 1/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I made this recipe over the last weekend and it came out great! By reading other reviewers I've made some modifications: increased the sauce by 1 cup; used 1 6oz jar of good parmesan cheese (put 4oz into the sauce and reserved the remaining to combine w/ 1/2 cup of bread crumbs and spread on top of lasagna); added some oregano, garlic powder and Old Bay seasoning to the sauce; used 1 12oz package of shredded mozzarella w/ 1 cup of ricotta plus 1 egg and some oregano; and last but not least I used the incredible 'No Boiling Lasagna' from Barilla - hassle free, time saving, perfect cooking! Super delicious lasagna, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAndriuz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santos, São Paulo, Brazil
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
Delicious, but better if you: 1)Cut the cheese down--it only needs 1-2 cups of mozzarella. Still cheesy and much healthier! 2)Saute 1/2 pound mushrooms and add them to the white sauce. 3)You can use crab substitute (surimi) in place of the crab, and cut both crab and shrimp by 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBRARYLADY61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Very tasty and easy to make. We substituted scallops for the crab because crab was too expensive this week. No-boil lasagna noodles worked fine. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMCLRH2O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Wow! I made this for my boyfriend because he loves shrimp and lasagna, and chose this recipe over another one with better ratings because the ingredients cost less. I made this as the recipe described except doubled the sauce as someone recommended, used half the shrimp and (imitation) crab and mozzarella, and added spinach as one of the layers. The sauce was bland as written but really something with salt, pepper, garlic powder and Emeril's Essence added. Next time I'll just do 1 1/2 times the amount of sauce though because it overflowed in my oven :o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States