Seafood Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This was a decent recipe. I made as-is, except adding garlic, onion, salt, and pepper to the sauce and ricotta cheese to the layers, but the next time I make this I will change a few things. I didn't think the crab went too well in the dish, next time I'll leave it out and add two pounds shrimp, or the one pound shrimp and the same amount of scallops. The sauce turned out a bit more "grainy" than I am used to, so I plan to take the sauce from the White Cheese Chicken Lasagna recipe on this site, leave out the herbs, and use that with only two cups cheese. I agree with the other reviewer's that you can easily add less shredded cheese. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
i served this at dinner party a few weeks ago it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
My family really liked this recipe. I used a parmesan/romano blend (what I had on hand), and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
I also added ingredients that others added like Old Bay, ricotta cheese and red peppers. It was just okay. I really wasn't that impressed with it like I thought I would be. My husband loved it but I don't think I will make it again. It does take a lot of time to make. I did find that my sauce didn't thicken up much until I added the parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I tried this recipe out on Christmas Eve for the family. They all liked it. I found the sauce a bit bland even after I added my own seasonings. It was nice for a change but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This was very good, but it was so very rich. I could only manage to eat a small piece, and I am a big eater. I did add garlic to it, which added some good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
Delicious, but better if you: 1)Cut the cheese down--it only needs 1-2 cups of mozzarella. Still cheesy and much healthier! 2)Saute 1/2 pound mushrooms and add them to the white sauce. 3)You can use crab substitute (surimi) in place of the crab, and cut both crab and shrimp by 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBRARYLADY61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Sounded bland, so I sautéed some garlic and added chopped large prawns to it, sprinkled ground ginger powder in and when opaque, put aside. Sautéed 1 medium onion (chopped) until soft, added crabmeat, added the juice from the cooling sautéed prawns, and put aside. Sautéed garlic with some sliced mushrooms. Used a bit of oil with all, salt to taste in some, keeping in mind of the cheese later. Made extra white sauce; sprinkled dashes of nutmeg, ground pepper and hot chilli powder in it, and spread between all layers, in regards to some comments of it being quite dry. Chopped some fresh tomatoes and sprinkled between middle layers and on top. Looked fabulous with tomatoes peeking out melted cheese and sauce, and was done in about 50 minutes 180C, scrumptious! Good base recipe, love it. Thanks Jeanette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sereneblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Loved the recipe and will definitely be making this again. This is what I did: I added some garlic powder (~2 tsp) to the sauce. My pan was a little bigger, so I only had two layers plus the top. I also slightly chopped the shrimp with my mini food processor. Added just a touch of parsley on the top before baking. It turned out FABULOUS! This recipe is a must try if you enjoy seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
I think the shrimp tainted it for me. I would use either all crab or medium or large shrimp chopped instead of the smaller shrimp if I were to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States