Seafood Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Incredible. Incredibly rich, though. Remembered one reviewer who said they were a big eater but this is RICH. They are right. That doesn't mean it isn't good, it's the BEST seafood lasagna recipe I've ever tried. Did the version that is seafood on bottom layer, ricotta egg and 1 TBSP Old Bay in middle layer and seafood on top. Putting the Old Bay in the white sauce also helps what is already a good recipe. You're doing it now, but do yourself a favor and READ THE REVIEWS. They are very helpful. The only thing I will change is perhaps make a smaller one next time. For 2 people it may be just a little too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This recipe is gr-8..it definately would be made again..i made a salad and had garlic bread.It definately is better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
WOW! I made this while on vacation with friends on the Outer Banks. Everyone loved this. I added a few things, which turned it into a mega-lasagna, or The Lasagna That Ate New York. I used a pound of lump crab, bay scallops, and shrimp in separate layers. I also added a layer of ricotta cheese mixed with a couple of beaten eggs. For the sauce I took the water I used to boil the shrimp, added a little white wine, and reduced it to about one cup. I started the sauce with the butter/flour roux, gradually added milk, shrimp reduction, and half-and-half. I also added Old Bay seasoning, paprika, a few dashes of Tabasco, and some basil. Total liquid was approximately five cups, but I was making a big lasagna. I added the grated parmesan to the sauce last. I layered in this order between the pasta: crabmeat, ricotta, scallops, shrimp. The scallops were small so I did not need to pre-cook them. It's important to let this rest 15-20 minutes after removing from the oven so your lasagna squares will hold together when serving. This made a fantastic dinner with garlic bread and a mixed green & romaine salad. Thanks for making everyone happy at the dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Very tasty! I made the modifications as others mentioned. I added 2 tsp garlic pwd, salt & papper, 1/2 tsp Old Bay. I only used 2 cups of mozarella & added 1 cup of Ricotta, I made it in a 9x9 stoneware pan but used the full batch of sauce - it was too runny - next time will use less sauce by maybe 1/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Yum!!! My boyfriend & I both loved it!! I did double the sauce as well as add a few spices parsley, oregeno, basil & garlic....VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This lasagna was great! I used the advice of the other reviewers (like Pasadenso) and made small changes such as more sauce, ricotta cheese, and 1 1/2 tsp of Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning (couldn't find Old Bay) Everyone who tried it wanted seconds! My friend wants me to bring it for part of her family's Christmas Eve dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Wow! I made this for my boyfriend because he loves shrimp and lasagna, and chose this recipe over another one with better ratings because the ingredients cost less. I made this as the recipe described except doubled the sauce as someone recommended, used half the shrimp and (imitation) crab and mozzarella, and added spinach as one of the layers. The sauce was bland as written but really something with salt, pepper, garlic powder and Emeril's Essence added. Next time I'll just do 1 1/2 times the amount of sauce though because it overflowed in my oven :o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Photo by Elysa
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
My boyfriend and I made this for some friends this past weekend and they loved it. Unfortunately I did not read the reviews before I made it. I agree with the consensus the sauce was not really enough and it was slightly bland. A little garlic would have made it better. Our guests were very impressed though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I made this recipe last night for dinner for tonight. At lunch today I could not help myself & had to give it a try! I thought it was really good!! I made some changes to mine that I wanted to note. The only "seafood" used was imitation crab (one family member is allergic to shellfish but misses it!) I also added some spinach and diced tomatoes to the ricotta mixure. I used regular mushrooms since I had them. The shredded cheese was a Colby Jack/Mozerella mix which gave it some color along with the tomatoes & spinach. It turned out absolutly beautiful! If anything it may be a little bland in flavor, but it's nothing a little additional seasoning or a dash of hot sauce before you eat it, can not fix! Overall I love it & wil make it again! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Two words; Yum Yum! I added garlic cloves in the sauce when I made it which added a little zest and used less cheese. Only thing I wish I had done differently was double the sauce. It turned out a little dry because the noodles soaked up the sauce. Even though dry it was delicious. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States