Seafood Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
This recipes takes a while to make, but it is sure worth it!! I've gotten rave reviews from many people who usually don't enjoy seafood. I put shimp, clams, crab, mussels, and oysters in my version and it is wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I made this gumbo for a large group that I was cooking dinner for and it received rave reviews from EVERYONE! It does take a long time to make but it is well worth the effort. My version had crawfish, shrimp and crabmeat. I did have a lot of difficulty finding the file powder, so make sure you find it before taking on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
One world Fantastic.....I have tried a lot of gumbo recipes, Emeril included. This one is outstanding. You go Sara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
Very yummy tasting, my hubby would've liked more texture to his vegatables. I chopped them on the finer side (my fault). We used a mixed seafood bag that had squid, mussels, shirmp etc. Few leftovers. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This was wonderful! Time got away from me and I had to use organic veg. broth. I added a couple of pinches of cloves to the broth after seeing that the Seafood Gumbo Stock recipe by Sara used it. We added 1/2 tsp file powder to the bowls of soup. File powder can become stringy if boiled. I am looking forward to making this again with Sara's stock recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I can't help writing this review because it's soooo good. Even though I have allegy aginst shrimp, I kept eating this Gambo. I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
EXCELLENT! I have made this twice now and the last time, I didn't even get a bowl! Thanks, Sara, for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I made this gumbo for a tailgate party this past fall, and it was a huge hit. I made the base, then added the seafood right before serving. I couldn't find file powder, so I made a roux instead. I also added frozen okra. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
i loved the stock! i made a roux before i added the veggies and only used crabmeat and shrimp, delicious! i will leave out the tomato sauce next time as i did not like that flavor. otherwise, this was excellent and everyone at my mother-in-law's birthday party loved it and oohed and aahed over it!! thanks, sara, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I added some squid and 1 pound of turkey sausage. I also substituted black pepper for the white pepper powder (a little carton of white pepper cost 4 bucks, while black pepper costs 69 cents. See my point?). I also served long grain white rice on top of this. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States