Seafood Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
not too bad, but two items of thought. Traditional Louisiana Gumbo does not contain tomato sauce and it does contain a roux. The dark grey chocolate-esque look of traditional gumbo and the deep flavor of a roux cannot be duplicated with tomato sauce :) Keep the file in it, but use a roux as a deep thickeningagent instead of the tomato sauce. Also add okra :) NOTE: DO not add the File powder until the gumbo is done cooking and right before serving. File becomes distasteful when cooked and also doesn't keep well. Only add it into individual servings right before going to the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
The stock this recipe uses is great, but this recipe isn't as good. Real gumbo uses a roux as dark as a beer bottle, not tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
This recipes takes a while to make, but it is sure worth it!! I've gotten rave reviews from many people who usually don't enjoy seafood. I put shimp, clams, crab, mussels, and oysters in my version and it is wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Excellent gumbo recipe. I'd also like to mention in reply to LASTMANG0 above, this is a traditional 'Creole' gumbo, which do usually contain tomato, and don't use a roux at all. Cajun gumbo uses a roux (usually a very dark one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gawain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I made this gumbo for a large group that I was cooking dinner for and it received rave reviews from EVERYONE! It does take a long time to make but it is well worth the effort. My version had crawfish, shrimp and crabmeat. I did have a lot of difficulty finding the file powder, so make sure you find it before taking on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I added some squid and 1 pound of turkey sausage. I also substituted black pepper for the white pepper powder (a little carton of white pepper cost 4 bucks, while black pepper costs 69 cents. See my point?). I also served long grain white rice on top of this. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
Very yummy tasting, my hubby would've liked more texture to his vegatables. I chopped them on the finer side (my fault). We used a mixed seafood bag that had squid, mussels, shirmp etc. Few leftovers. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This was wonderful! Time got away from me and I had to use organic veg. broth. I added a couple of pinches of cloves to the broth after seeing that the Seafood Gumbo Stock recipe by Sara used it. We added 1/2 tsp file powder to the bowls of soup. File powder can become stringy if boiled. I am looking forward to making this again with Sara's stock recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Great recipe! To the couple of people who said that gumbo "must have roux" or "doesn't have tomato sauce"... I have lived in Louisiana and I have Cajun and French relatives and those statements are not true. There is a "red gumbo" and a "brown gumbo".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was awesome awesome. I was scared to try gumbo for some reason, but my husband said this was the best Gumbo he had ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States