Seafood Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
This recipes takes a while to make, but it is sure worth it!! I've gotten rave reviews from many people who usually don't enjoy seafood. I put shimp, clams, crab, mussels, and oysters in my version and it is wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I made this gumbo for a large group that I was cooking dinner for and it received rave reviews from EVERYONE! It does take a long time to make but it is well worth the effort. My version had crawfish, shrimp and crabmeat. I did have a lot of difficulty finding the file powder, so make sure you find it before taking on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I can't help writing this review because it's soooo good. Even though I have allegy aginst shrimp, I kept eating this Gambo. I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
One world Fantastic.....I have tried a lot of gumbo recipes, Emeril included. This one is outstanding. You go Sara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
EXCELLENT! I have made this twice now and the last time, I didn't even get a bowl! Thanks, Sara, for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
Very yummy tasting, my hubby would've liked more texture to his vegatables. I chopped them on the finer side (my fault). We used a mixed seafood bag that had squid, mussels, shirmp etc. Few leftovers. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
not too bad, but two items of thought. Traditional Louisiana Gumbo does not contain tomato sauce and it does contain a roux. The dark grey chocolate-esque look of traditional gumbo and the deep flavor of a roux cannot be duplicated with tomato sauce :) Keep the file in it, but use a roux as a deep thickeningagent instead of the tomato sauce. Also add okra :) NOTE: DO not add the File powder until the gumbo is done cooking and right before serving. File becomes distasteful when cooked and also doesn't keep well. Only add it into individual servings right before going to the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
250 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I made this recipe for my christmas gathering. It was a hit!!! I have never attempted to make gumbo before, and now I feel confident in saying that I can. My guests loved it. I didn't add the file, but had it out for anyone who wanted to add it to their own dishes. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Great recipe! love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
The stock this recipe uses is great, but this recipe isn't as good. Real gumbo uses a roux as dark as a beer bottle, not tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States