Seafood Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Great Recipe. I do not do much Cajun cooking myself, nor does my family eat it very often, so I don’t have anything to compare this to, but all I can say for sure is that everyone loved it (except my son, who thought it was too spicy). I did tweak the recipe a bit to accommodate what I had on hand: first, I omitted the oil altogether and added salt to the veggies so they would sweat a bit and not burn, second, I used chicken stock instead of fish stock, third, I used scallops instead of shrimp, and fourth, I didn’t have oysters, but I did have light smoked sausage, so I added that in its place. I know this sounds like a lot of changes, and it was…but for me not knowing how to make gumbo, this served as a great starting point. So, thank you Sara for the recipe and the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaiahzMahm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lihue, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Excellent! This thickened up so nicely, so it was great over rice as well as *soup* as leftovers. I'll certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Sorry - we love cajun and gumbo - no one cared for this one. follwed exactly but came out oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Pretty good. I liked the fact that it's a healthier meal and it's filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I added some squid and 1 pound of turkey sausage. I also substituted black pepper for the white pepper powder (a little carton of white pepper cost 4 bucks, while black pepper costs 69 cents. See my point?). I also served long grain white rice on top of this. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
i loved the stock! i made a roux before i added the veggies and only used crabmeat and shrimp, delicious! i will leave out the tomato sauce next time as i did not like that flavor. otherwise, this was excellent and everyone at my mother-in-law's birthday party loved it and oohed and aahed over it!! thanks, sara, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I made this gumbo for a tailgate party this past fall, and it was a huge hit. I made the base, then added the seafood right before serving. I couldn't find file powder, so I made a roux instead. I also added frozen okra. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This was wonderful! Time got away from me and I had to use organic veg. broth. I added a couple of pinches of cloves to the broth after seeing that the Seafood Gumbo Stock recipe by Sara used it. We added 1/2 tsp file powder to the bowls of soup. File powder can become stringy if boiled. I am looking forward to making this again with Sara's stock recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
The stock this recipe uses is great, but this recipe isn't as good. Real gumbo uses a roux as dark as a beer bottle, not tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Great recipe! love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States