Seafood Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Excellent! This thickened up so nicely, so it was great over rice as well as *soup* as leftovers. I'll certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Sorry - we love cajun and gumbo - no one cared for this one. follwed exactly but came out oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Pretty good. I liked the fact that it's a healthier meal and it's filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I added some squid and 1 pound of turkey sausage. I also substituted black pepper for the white pepper powder (a little carton of white pepper cost 4 bucks, while black pepper costs 69 cents. See my point?). I also served long grain white rice on top of this. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
i loved the stock! i made a roux before i added the veggies and only used crabmeat and shrimp, delicious! i will leave out the tomato sauce next time as i did not like that flavor. otherwise, this was excellent and everyone at my mother-in-law's birthday party loved it and oohed and aahed over it!! thanks, sara, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I made this gumbo for a tailgate party this past fall, and it was a huge hit. I made the base, then added the seafood right before serving. I couldn't find file powder, so I made a roux instead. I also added frozen okra. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This was wonderful! Time got away from me and I had to use organic veg. broth. I added a couple of pinches of cloves to the broth after seeing that the Seafood Gumbo Stock recipe by Sara used it. We added 1/2 tsp file powder to the bowls of soup. File powder can become stringy if boiled. I am looking forward to making this again with Sara's stock recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
The stock this recipe uses is great, but this recipe isn't as good. Real gumbo uses a roux as dark as a beer bottle, not tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Great recipe! love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I made this recipe for my christmas gathering. It was a hit!!! I have never attempted to make gumbo before, and now I feel confident in saying that I can. My guests loved it. I didn't add the file, but had it out for anyone who wanted to add it to their own dishes. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States