Seafood Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
For all the work it was not worth it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rickelkhunter35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This gumbo was very flavorful but the 3/4 cup of oil was way too much, and next time I make it, I won't use canned crab--it kind of disappeared in the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltwater

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I added 3 cans of sauce and 2 cans of sliced stewed tomatoes...with a lot more onion, celery and bell pepper. It is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Delicious!! Because I have young kids, I toned down the hot spices a bit, but this is a rich, delicious stew that freezes well. Obviously, the types of seafood you put in are also amenable to modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Great recipe! To the couple of people who said that gumbo "must have roux" or "doesn't have tomato sauce"... I have lived in Louisiana and I have Cajun and French relatives and those statements are not true. There is a "red gumbo" and a "brown gumbo".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was awesome awesome. I was scared to try gumbo for some reason, but my husband said this was the best Gumbo he had ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Excellent gumbo recipe. I'd also like to mention in reply to LASTMANG0 above, this is a traditional 'Creole' gumbo, which do usually contain tomato, and don't use a roux at all. Cajun gumbo uses a roux (usually a very dark one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gawain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is easily a 5 star recipe. I couldn't find file powder anywhere at my grocery store, so I made a four roux instead, and it worked fine, I also subbed chicken stock for fish stock, since I couldn't find that either. I also added sliced smoked sausage, and omitted the white pepper. I followed the rest of the recipe to a "T" and wouldn't change a thing. It was delicious, and didn't make it to the leftover phase. A real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
We tweaked this one a little and it was MAJOR hit!!! Love this recipe!!! Will definitely make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burgeoning Epicurean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnsboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is so good, and I was worried about the amount of grease but after you add the shrimp, crabmeat and rice, you really don't taste it. I didn't used white pepper and I didn't crush the bay leaf. I left out celery ( personal taste ) and I used 1/4 green bell pepper and a whole red bell pepper, I used seafood broth, no oysters but I used crab meat and that overpowered the shrimp a bit. I made brown rice to serve over it. It's really more of a effutae than a gumbo but it still makes a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States