Seafood Gumbo Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
perfect starter gumbo stock recipe! I wouldn't limit it to just shrimp shells though! Feel Free to add fish bones, crab shells or any other shellfish shells you have around. The best gumbo stock I make is almost exactly like this but we use leftover crawfish shells from crawfish boils done in Zatarains Liquid. It adds a real zing to the stock that really helps the gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I tried the Seafood Gumbo Stock last year and it was wonderful, actually it was the best that I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
Doubled the shell amount, turned out even better. Used it as base stock for Shrimp and Okra Gumbo. http://soup.allrecipes.com/AZ/ShrimpandOkraGumbo.asp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I made this stock a few years ago to use as a base for gumbo for my Mardi Gras party. It was incredible and I beleive roasting the shrimp shells really makes the difference. I made shrimp etoufee this past Saturday for Mardi Gras party and wanted to use this stock but didn't have the time to roast the shells and then simmer for the 7+ hours to make it. I had a pint of some really rich shrimp stock I had made earlier using shrimp heads and shells and a pint of some rich home-made chicken stock that I added to the water. The house smelled so good and the stock was so yummy. I had some left and added some other ingredients for a small bowl of soup yesterday - Delicious!! Who wold have thought to add cloves? Brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
WOW! This takes a long time, but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This stock is the best I've ever made! I used this stock recipe when making seafood gumbo for about 75 people. Here are a couple of their comments:One lady from Mississippi said she absolutely LOVED the gumbo! A gentleman from Baton Rouge, LA said the gumbo was incredibly rich and flavorful--no doubt a product of a great stock!! Thanks for a great recipe...this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Firt time I made it and I was a sceptic but its great!!! I saved the stock in a 1/2 gallon milk jug in the frig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
The stock is excellent, but time consuming. After I roasted the shrimp shells, I simmered it in my crockpot all day. That worked well. The gumbo recipe that goes with it isn't as good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
what fallows this ive madegumbo before so i dont know what to do after the stock is made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Wonderful. I make this and pressure can it so that I will have it on hand whenever I want to make gumbo. Adding a fish head and some clam shells will make it even better, but I used only shrimp shells for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States