Seafood Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is my favorite meal to make, and everyone loves it. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly, and I loved it. Since then, I have experimented, combined other recipes, and made so many changes that I have a completely new recipe that fits my taste perfectly. I would like to add that combining a little of the sauce to the inside filling works out really well. I serve this with Rice, beans, Chi-Chi's brand corn cake and margaritas. Oh, and I have always used imitation crabmeat as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I've made this a few times, and it's always a crowd pleaser. I usually use 2/3 to 3/4 lb of shrimp and skip the crab, and I've found that corn tortillas tend to be better for enchiladas. I usually fry the tortillas in oil just the tiniest bit to keep them from cracking when they're rolled up. The sauce is delicious, I don't change a thing. It's rich, but not overpowering. I usually top with a little bit of guacamole or avocado salad. Delicious and very easy to make, but everyone who tastes it will think you've slaved all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
The first time we made this I got confused and used cooked shrimp. It was rubbery and not tasty. This time we used a 1 pound bag of raw shrimp (No crab- did not want to have to split up a bag of shrimp.) We followed other's suggestions and used corn tortillas, added cumin, a little fresh cilantro, and 1 chipotle with some adobo sauce. After cooking, I poured some green chile enchilada sauce (the can said "Hatch) on top and garnished with avocado and diced tomato from the garden. Half-way through the cooking process, we realized that we did not have enough 1/2 and 1/2. We ended up supplementing with buttermilk. We served this with some packaged green chile cilantro rice from Target (Archer Farms brand.) The combo was wonderful and tasted like "gourmet mexican." Leftovers were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Added some pepper, garlic, and green chile enchilada sauce. Really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was great! Easy to make flavor adjustments. I added Rotel and it was a big hit. I also doubled the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Dont get these if you want spicy enchiladas. They are more of the creamy plain type... good but I will likely not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
so-so. wasn't crazy about the sauce. thought the filling would be a little blah so i added a can of diced green chilies and some corn. maybe if i tweaked it some i'd like it better. probably would not make it again without some SERIOUS changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayfordlaura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
THIS IS AWESOME! I normally don't rate recipes, but I always read the reviews since it helps me gauge what may need to be tweaked. I agree with doubling the sauce, adding cilantro, cumin and using heavy cream instead of half-and-half. My son picked this recipe for Father's Day and boy did he pick a winner. This is a restaurant quality dish! Excellent, excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Browns Mills, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Great recipe. I added a couple of chipotle chilis and a little adobo sauce. Absolutely delicious, hubby was very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I liked it but it was very rich. I followed the directions exactly - and I think it could have been less rich and more shrimp added to the recipe because it was not enough! I would double to filling recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cierra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camby, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States