Seafood Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Made this tonight for the first time, and loved it! Found this recipe when looking for something to do with shrimp and tortillas. I read the reviews carefully and made the following changes: sauteed two cloves of garlic with the onion; used pepper jack, sliced finely; and only used shrimp, because it's all I had. After removing the shrimp and onion/garlic from the pan, I made the sauce in the same pan in order to absorb all of the flavor. I melted the butter first, then added some Wondra flour and whisked until smooth. I then added about a cup of light cream and continued whisking, adding garlic powder, kosher salt, and dried parsley. The sauce thickened more than I wanted, so I thinned it with whole milk. I poured it over the enchiladas, then topped that with the rest of the cheddar jack and one sliced jalapeno. The heat level was just perfect, and my husband couldn't stop raving about it. Thanks for sharing the recipe! I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Very good and filling. I used salad shrimp and didnt chop it. i did top it with green onions like in the picture. I didnt get 6 out of it only 4 but that was still enough for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
A very good recipe that needs a little extra to get 5 stars. A little bland for Mexican food so I spice it up by adding minced garlic, cumin, diced green peppers and cayenne to the filling. Saute these with the onions and add some of the sauce to the filling when adding the seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by perlawife
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Seafood lovers unite!! Tonight was the second night i made this recipe. It is sooo good and filling! Got rave reviews from hubby and the neighbors; deff worth making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perlawife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
These were 5 star after a few revisions...4 stars made as is. FILLING: I used 1 lb. imitation crab and omitted the shrimp. I added 3 cloves chopped garlic. For the cheese I used colby jack. I also added some of the sauce mixture and some sour cream until the filling was creamy. SAUCE: I doubled the sauce. I melted the butter then added about 1/2 cup flour to form a paste. Then I slowly whisked in the half and half. I added 1 can of hot green chiles, 1 tsp. chili powder and cumin, 1/4 tsp. cayenne, and salt and pepper to taste. After this I removed from heat and added sour cream. TOPPING: I sprinkled freshly chopped cilantro on the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I have made these several times now and they are always a big hit. I've used Colby cheese and I've also tried it with Cheddar and both are fine in my opinion. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Kicked up the spices a notch per other reviews. Still these were just 'okay'. Reminiscent of seafood lasagna -it seems like a good idea at the time, but then it doesn't really taste like anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
this is an excellent recipe! u can even subsitute the crab with things like halibut! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunybee14

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
My boyfriend and I absolutely love these. They are rich tasting but I believe thats good once in a while. I always add some sour cream to the inside mix also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This recipe lacked flavor. Make sure to read the reviews and see how to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States