Seafood Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Soooo good! Big hit for New Year's Eve dinner. I used 1/2 shrimp and 1/2 crab. For the filling, I used jalapeno mexican 4 cheese blend and regular mexican 4 cheese blend for the topping. In the sauce, I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt, cilantro instead of parsley, added a can of ortega diced chilis, and a dash of chipotle pepper powder (didn't measure it). And, I used corn tortillas instead of flour (flour tortillas are typically not used for mexican enchiladas). Be sure to quick fry the corn tortillas in hot oil to soften them, so they roll easier and don't break.... this is the more authentic mexican style of preparing enchiladas. Definitely will make these again...soon! Also, I served it with the Archer Farms (Target brand) Cilantro Lime rice(suggested by other reviewers- thank you!!). It was a perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
5 stars because I simply adore all seafood. I was able to make 7 of these and squeezed them into a 9*9 baking dish so the sauce smothered all of them. If I used a 9*13 the sauce would just run on the bottom of the pan which is why most people double the sauce recipe. I tried using canned crab meat both times and it was very good, but I drained it with a strainer and squeezed it as dry as i could get it. Bad idea; you live and learn. Next time I'll use fresh crab, but if I have to use canned I'll drain it, not dry it so as to keep the crab flavor intact. Aren't great when microwaved More cheese on the outside than on the inside please. Not too much on the inside. I want to try adding more spices / vegetables. Maybe use half as much onions and add green onions instead?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
These enchiladas were awesome!! We just added medium, chunky salsa over the top once they came out of the oven. Absolutely delicious! Thanks for the recipe! And thanks to everyone else for their extra ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was amazing!! I tweaked the recipe slightly by adding a diced green chile and two diced tomatillos. I also added a splash of white wine. It came out great, the only thing I would change would be to add more spice (perhaps a dash or two of hot sauce) and I would have made more of the enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
My picky hispanic boyfriend loved these. I double the sauce and put some in with the stuffing. They also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Wow!! This recipe is a keeper. My husband who generally isn't a big fan of cream-based sauces ate 2 helpings. As others suggested, I made a few additions to the sauce. I used heavy cream and a little milk (because I didn't think there would be enough, there was). I added a small can of chopped green chiles, cumin, cilantro & powdered cayenne pepper. I also added a few spoonfuls of the sauce to the seafood mix. I think it made it easier to work with when filling the tortillas. I used corn tortillas and served it with guacamole and cilantro/lime rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These were delicious! I used heavy cream instead of half and half. I think that throwing in a handful of fresh cilantro would put it over the top. Yummy!!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I recommend really stuffing the tortillas. The sauce does cook all the way down, so I am glad I had extra sour cream, lettuce, tomato and salsa to top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
PERFECT! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Oh My Goodness ..... This was awesome. Used scallops instead of crabmeat and doubled the shrimp. I put a tsp of Old Bay Seasoning in the sauce & used pepper jack cheese & garlic in both filling & a white sauce. Thanks Cathy !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States