Seafood Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Wow!! This recipe is a keeper. My husband who generally isn't a big fan of cream-based sauces ate 2 helpings. As others suggested, I made a few additions to the sauce. I used heavy cream and a little milk (because I didn't think there would be enough, there was). I added a small can of chopped green chiles, cumin, cilantro & powdered cayenne pepper. I also added a few spoonfuls of the sauce to the seafood mix. I think it made it easier to work with when filling the tortillas. I used corn tortillas and served it with guacamole and cilantro/lime rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These were delicious! I used heavy cream instead of half and half. I think that throwing in a handful of fresh cilantro would put it over the top. Yummy!!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I recommend really stuffing the tortillas. The sauce does cook all the way down, so I am glad I had extra sour cream, lettuce, tomato and salsa to top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
PERFECT! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Oh My Goodness ..... This was awesome. Used scallops instead of crabmeat and doubled the shrimp. I put a tsp of Old Bay Seasoning in the sauce & used pepper jack cheese & garlic in both filling & a white sauce. Thanks Cathy !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I used Caren's suggestions (I did use real crab meat) which made this an amazing recipe! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Love this recipe. The only things I changed were instead of dried parsley I used fresh, and I couldn't find just Colby so I used a mexican mix for the top and colby and mont. jack for the inside of the enchiladas. I plated it with sour cream, fresh tomatoes, salsa and cilantro. Everyone at dinner loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
GREAT recipe! I tweaked to maximize the ingredients I had on hand. I think the beauty of a great recipe is that it lends itself to tweaking due to ingredients on hand or dietary limitations. Here's the breakdown: 1 lb. shrimp (omitted crab, didn't have any), used shredded mozzarella cheese (didn't have colby), used 1/2 C heavy whipping cream and 1 C 2% milk (didn't have half-and-half) after making a roux with 1/4 C butter and 5 T flour (recommendation from reviews). All else stayed the same although I did season the mixture liberally with salt, I think this is an important step not listed in the original recipe. Even with the tweaking it turned out great. Enjoy! (PS-I'll totally make this for friends!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I followed many of the reviews and doubled the sauce. I added some sauteed green onion to the filling for color. I also doubled the shrimp. Perhaps I am weird, but did not care for the crab (even though I sprang for the good stuff) and next time will make them with just shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Awesome recipe! We used imatation crab, and threw in some pepper jack cheese for a little kick, some cilantro on the top. Followed the advice of making a rue to thicken the sauce was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States