Seafood Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I have made this dish several times and it is an excellent recipe as is and very easy to modify to your individual taste. My version needs to have less fat so I use 2% cheese, reduced fat sour cream and instead of using half-n-half, I puree reduced fat ricotta cheese and combine it with fat free evaporated milk. As other reviewers did, I make extra sauce and prepare it with a traditional white sauce roux. I add some of the sauce and RF sour cream in the enchiladas along with chopped green chiles. When preparing for guests, definitely add garnish for the presentation and get ready for rave reviews and mucho compliments about your cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBeeN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Oh my my.. these were to die for! Absolutely delish! I doubled the sauce recipe and added Cayenne pepper and Cholula hot sauce to give it a nice warm spicy flavor. The sauce is so rich it needed a little spice to counter it. Otherwise it was amazing! We cannot wait to make this again! I also used Fat Free Sour Cream and the sauce still thickened once it cooled a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
My husband loved this. I thought it was a little too rich but still good. I used about 1/4 shrimp and 3/4 imitation crab. Next time I'll probably do more shrimp, as the imitation crab isn't my favorite and the real stuff is just too expensive. I used flour tortillas as the recipe calls for, but I think I may try corn next time. Also, next time I'm definitely going to try adding a minced habanero pepper to the cream sauce to add some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Very tasty. I made some modifications to fit what I had in my kitchen. Omitted the onion. I used can crab and shrimp instead of fresh. I had gruyere and mozzarella cheese so I used that instead of colby. I combined the shrimp, crab and cheese in a bowl. I heated CORN tortillas in the microwave to make them pliable. I filled each tortilla (I used 9) and rolled them up. I used a 7x11 greased glass dish. For the sauce, I melted the butter in a sauce pan then added HEAVY WHIPPING CREAM. Once heated, I removed from the heat and let cool for a few minutes. I then stirred in fat-free sour cream. I had some leftover filling so I sprinkled it over the enchiladas. I poured the sauce over the enchiladas and baked for 30 minutes. I will say that the sauce probably was not enough because the tortillas dried out a bit on top. Next time I will double it as some other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Danke cooked these - doubled the recipe, added more cheese and they were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
As written this would have been way too bland for our taste. So I sauteed bell and mildly hot peppers with the onion, added real garlic to both saute and sauce, added cayenne, chili powder, cumin, and paprika to taste. Let sit for close to 10 minutes after pulling it out of the oven to help the sauce set, which worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
my 6 yr old loved it. I topped with some about a 1/2 cup of salsa verde and fresh cilantro before cooking. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Add cream cheese and diced canned jalapeño peppers for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Followed all the advice. Good, but v. rich. Will be trying to lighten it up a little bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States