Seafood Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I made this recipe for dinner party last night. It was awesome! I read a lot of reviews and decided to go with Caren's suggestions. After I melted the butter and sauté the onion I did add 5 tablespoons of flour to make a roué . Then I added a cup of half-and-half and a cup of heavy cream, I don't like my food too spicy so I only added a 1/4 teaspoon of the chili powder 1/8 of a teaspoon of the cayenne pepper and 1/2 teaspoon of cumin, & 1 tsp organic pink salt. I also added some minced garlic to the sauce the flavor was amazing. Next time I will add less flour to the roué probably only two or 3 tablespoons, as I always put some sauce in the bottom so it won't stick the pan, sauce was a little too thick and my tortillas did stick a little bit to the bottom. I also took Caren's idea of putting some sauce in with the seafood so it wouldn't be dry , that was a good idea I'll do that again! I did top with sharp cheddar cheese and chopped up cilantro and parsley and it looked really nice. A definite crowd pleaser!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Freeport, New York, USA
Living In: Bridgehampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Good base start. Crab over powered the shrimp. Sauce did curdle somewhat. I will use spice suggestions from other reviewers next time. I also plan on using corn tortillas for a more casserole type dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
it was really good, husband loved it. next time i will increase the sauce by 50%. they are super easy to make and amazing. i wasn't sure if they are suppose to be covered while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by libertine99
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
One of my favorite holiday recipes; Mom always made her version around Christmas. Changed a few things. Used one pound of shrimp, not 1/2lb. While cooking the meat, onions and cheese, I added about 3/4 cup of tomatillo salsa (store bought). I had some left over meat/cheese/onion mix, so I added that to the sauce once it had warmed. Turned out great! Girlfriend was hesitant at first, ended up loving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by libertine99

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This recipe is so good! My whole family loved it, even my picky 9 year old:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole Schneck
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
It looked and smelled amazing when I was finished. The first couple of bites were amazing, but I couldn't finish one whole enchilada myself. My roommate LOVED his, scarfed it right down. I think maybe it was the half and half? it was way to rich for me, ended up needing to eat a couple of tums later on that night. If i make again Ill use a less rich sauce. The filling was perfect though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Schneck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmarikcasa
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I personally thought this recipe was awesome however my family hated it. I followed it exactly and it came out it really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This recipe was easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This recipe was exactly as I hoped it would be. I served a shredded lettuce salad with finely chopped tomato along side of the enchilada on each plate. I did not have parsley, but that made no difference in the taste, according to my family. I Will use less butter in the future, but other than that I will make this again for special guests that visit our home. If it were possible to give 10 stars, I would do that! Thanks Cathy. This recipe will get lots of use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by steffanie
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was fantastic. I added crab meat, shrimp, scallops and mexi-corn along with one cup of the sauce that goes over the top. (I doubled the sauce over the top) The enchiladas were moist and loaded with all the seafood. Oh yea, one other thing, I added 1/2 block of cream cheese to the seafood mixture and let it melt down for thicker consistency. Delishhhhhh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States