Seafood Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
This is definitely restaurant quality! I did make a few changes so I could use what I had on hand -- I left out the chile pepper and used 2 lbs. of shrimp, 5 orange roughy filets and 2 6 1/2 oz. cans of chopped clams and it was wonderful. This is a very full-bodied and flavorful cioppino.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This was a huge hit at our Italian Christmas Eve dinner. As my daughter-in-law put it, it's "dynamite". My family would give it a rating of 7, that's how much they loved it. I added 3/4 teaspoon of dry crushed hot pepper instead of the red chile pepper, gave it just enough zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This was amazing! I order Cioppino at a Italian restaurant we frequent and this was just as good if not better!! I actually added 1 cup chicken stock instead of water. Served it over Penne, Just PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
It was pretty good. I used cod, shrimp and scallops. Don't use cod like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This was awesome!.. I've made this a few times following the seasonings and sauce to a T!.. I do change up the seafood though! For special occasions I'll add some crab legs and scallops. Traditionally the seafood is served in this dish with shells on... Part of the fun eating it is you get messy!... I always add a bag of frozen seafood mix during the last 10 minutes, shrimp, and clams... Served over cooked linguine with sourdough french bread! Yum! Note::::::::::::::::::::::: For the people using clams in the shell... If they don't open cook a little longer; the ones that still don't open throw out.. they are bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
fantastic. I have made it twice. I used crushed red pepper for the chile pepper and I added 2 cans of clams and left out the mussels, using canned oysters instead. I am going to stock up on big shrimp whenever they are on sale, since the smaller shrimp dont cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
After searching much searching I came across this recipe and gave it a try. I used mussels, scallops, clams and shrimp. I served it over linguini. It was absolutely delicious. Perfect meal for a Friday in Lent. I followed what others said about simmering for 2 hours, which really enabled the flavors to come together beautifully. I learned one important lesson from this recipe. My grocer sealed the mussels in a plastic bag. I later read that if not able to breathe mussels will suffocate---I ended up throwing many of mine out since the shells were opened. Make sure your mussels can breathe while storing them in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellibelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
The seafood cippino was such a hit at my last party everyone asked for the recipe. We had 10 people over the other evening (6 of us from San Francisco) and everyone was so impressed with the flavors. We added crab and calamari to the recipe and it was great..... Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe..... Thanks, David
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I loved this recipe. It's so easy to make and you can substitute ingredients for stuff you have around the house. You can use whatever seafood you like and it's great served in a bread bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
awesome. i used fresh scallops, fresh cod, shrimp, clams, and fresh mussels. wonderful flavor, and very easy to make. served with brown rice and crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Circleville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States