Seafood Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is fabulous or so I am told (I cannot eat shellfish) I made this for a party and it was gone in no time. Delicious. I added crab instead of shrimp!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I have been making the same version of Cioppino for nearly 40 years. Because of the expense I have found many shortcuts...using frozen mussels, scallops, shrimp, lobster tails, any firm flesh fish. I've made it for anniversary parties for friends and they raved about it for a long, long time...hinting to make it again. Made it just for HB for his birthday dinner and was he surprised. This recipe is a close to a San Francisco restaurant as you can get. Love it, Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TC the Cookin' Cableguy
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Delicious, and easy. What makes this such a great recipe is not just the result, but its flexibility with the kinds of seafood used. I omited the Cayenne and Chile pepper and substituted fresh ground pepper, and subbed lobster for the scallops(had some on hand). I also cooked the fresh mussels over the tomato sauce base, the mussels' juices made the dish "taste like the sea". This recipe will be on the radar on every occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC the Cookin' Cableguy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Excellent! I made this recipe yesterday with few changes, like i used chicken stock instead of white wine,10oz water plus fresh Clams instead of can minced clams and fresh Crab instead of mussels and scallops.I can recommend that you can add any shell fish or fish that is available.These were my husbands comments: Delicious, cant stop licking my fingers :) He tried a similar dish at the Fishermen's Grotto, a resturant in San Francisco.Bon Appetit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This needs 20 stars. My husband took it to work to show off my work. Everyone loved it and got a couple emails directly from his co-workers! This will become a regular treat at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Great recipe, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Excellent! I've made this twice now, with rave reviews each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Amazing just the way it is. I've also made it with an additional can of fire-roasted diced tomatoes... wow, it adds a little extra something, but don't think you'll miss it without it. The way it is written is yummy! I also usually add 2 to 3 pounds of cod and use a Kitchen Basic Seafood Stock (32 oz) since we needed a larger amount. Enjoy! Oh, almost forgot, try to get thick pieces of cod, I really like the chunks instead of thin pieces. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This is a keeper!! My husband said he may never order it in a restaurant again. I, too, added a red bell pepper to the mixture as well as increasing the garlic to 6 cloves. I also substituted 2-14.5 ounce cans diced tomatoes for the crushed tomatoes. I left out the water, but added one can of clam broth. I served it with sourdough bread to sop up the wonderful juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is a FABULOUS recipe, which got rave reviews. I made a few adjustments ... 1) I did not use the fresh chile pepper (the pinch of cayenne pepper was sufficient) for our taste. 2) I used two 14.5 oz. cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes instead of the 28 oz. can crushed tomatoes. 3) I did not use the canned clams (didn't have any) 4) I used a container of frozen mussels (approx. 35), which I'd rinsed under tepid water to defrost. 5) I upped the count of shrimp to about 30. I served it with freshly baked French bread and it fed 4 hungry adults, with a little left over for lunch the following day. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States