Seafood Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
After searching much searching I came across this recipe and gave it a try. I used mussels, scallops, clams and shrimp. I served it over linguini. It was absolutely delicious. Perfect meal for a Friday in Lent. I followed what others said about simmering for 2 hours, which really enabled the flavors to come together beautifully. I learned one important lesson from this recipe. My grocer sealed the mussels in a plastic bag. I later read that if not able to breathe mussels will suffocate---I ended up throwing many of mine out since the shells were opened. Make sure your mussels can breathe while storing them in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellibelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as is, and it is awesome! I just made it two nights ago and my husband says he would love it again any time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Very flavorful dish and so many options. I cooked the sauce for 1 hr but I should've cooked for 2 hours. Also, pay attention to the seafood used. I used (frozen)cooked shrimp, scallops, mahi mahi, clam, and crab. I should have put the shrimp and crab in after the other seafood had cooked a bit instead of at the same time. I'm don't like spicy so I didn't use the chile pepper, just a dash of cayenne. Overall good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittne Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Off the hook amazing. Well balanced recipe. Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Used what I had on hand, clams in their shells, shrimp and cod....turned out wonderful...will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
An excellent meal. Served 2x now to guest whom all loved and raved about it. Expensive but great for special occassions and special guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe! I've never had a Seafood Cioppino before and it was very good (reminded me of Paella). I made it for my finance and she actually got seconds (she never gets seconds). For the white wine an an inexpensive Pinot Noir was used and Tilapia was substituted for the Cod. Also be sure to take the full two hours to cook the sauce down if you plan to serve over pasta. I had to add corn starch to thicken it up. Alternatively, serve it over rice or in a bowl! Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bsimba
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This recipe is great! I made it for my wife on New Years Eve. I used pasta instead of rice and threw in a bit of cajun powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsimba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Made and served this for our Christmas Eve dinner. It was such a huge hit! Even our pickiest eater ate this! I will definitely make again and again - may even become our new Christmas Eve tradition. Thank you for a fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Newton Pause

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairlee, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wilder, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This is a great recipe for all kinds of seafood. I accidentally added more cayenne poweder but it truned out great as we like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States