Seafood Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is a FABULOUS recipe, which got rave reviews. I made a few adjustments ... 1) I did not use the fresh chile pepper (the pinch of cayenne pepper was sufficient) for our taste. 2) I used two 14.5 oz. cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes instead of the 28 oz. can crushed tomatoes. 3) I did not use the canned clams (didn't have any) 4) I used a container of frozen mussels (approx. 35), which I'd rinsed under tepid water to defrost. 5) I upped the count of shrimp to about 30. I served it with freshly baked French bread and it fed 4 hungry adults, with a little left over for lunch the following day. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
GREAT! We did not serve over rice nor pasta... ate it more like a stew! I added some diced celery in with the onions and used red pepper flakes as I did not have a chile pepper handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLCOUG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This dish was not what i expected it tasted like regular spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
My husband loved this. He went on and on about it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was a really good base- I used 1.5 pounds of Cod fillets and a bag of seafood medley from Costco that had calamari, shrimp, mussels and scallops in it. YUMMY!!! I didnt use the white wine and subbed chicken stock for it, added one leek, one fennel and skipped the red chili pepper. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Have to give this 5 stars as my husband who doesn"t like cioppino really like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is an excellent recipe!! I ran out of basil but still turned out very good. One of my favorite dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
great dish. made this twice in a week (majorly expenisve), but I wanted to test the original recipe and then make the suggested changes. Both were GREAT! Changes made = clam juice instead of water & wine, red pepper flakes & fresh shaved parm cheese on the top after plating. great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Followed the recipe with the pepers and onions but added 2 bulbs of garlic since my wife and I are Garlic nuts, herbs as suggested, 15oz. of diced tomatos instead of tamato sauce. We live at the Jersey shore so little neck clams are very inexpensive so I steamed 25 in white wine and garlic and used the broth, shucked these clams and later added them to the sauce, I did not use the mussels or scallops, Right now it is spring and we have a great run of striped bass used this instead of cod, striped bass is a very firm white fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wild Bills Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Very tasty but personally after the cost of buying all my ingredients next time I will eat out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States