Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This is without a doubt, the best chowder I have ever made. While I didn`t use Calamari, or Clams, I chose to use extra shrimp, crab and scallops. Five of my friends have asked for this recipe, and I have no hesitation in recommending it to all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Amazing! This is by far the best chowder I have ever had, and my family is from Maine! I tweaked it a bit, adding clam juice and omitting corn. This recipe is a hit in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apriln

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Awesome-- but I would lower the cayenne pepper down to 1/8 tsp-- I found it to be alittle to spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I like to cook healthy and this recipe was excellent. It was rich, creamy, full of flavor -- while being low in fat, and full of nutrition! I didn't change much from the original recipe. My boyfriend loved this too. Good work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This was wonderful!! It made a lot and I'll probably cut the recipe down a little. Also used more milk (fat free half/half)then the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
GREAT recipe. I left out the calamari just because there is A LOT of seafood called for. Awesome! Any seafood lover will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I made this for BUNCO night. It was a hit with the ladies. I made a change though. I used 4lbs of shrimp and omitted all the other seafood. It made the chowder more economical because shrimp was on sale ;-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I added mushrooms and doubled the potatoes. Had to add more milk and soup to compensate. I couldn't find calamari, so I added oysters and crawfish instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Very good! I also substituted canned corn for frozen. I used canned clams and poured the juice into the chowder. For seafood, I used fresh sea scallops, fresh haddock, fresh salmon, fresh calamari, frozen pre-cooked shrimp, and canned baby clams. Excellent Recipe. We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danigurrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States