Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This is without a doubt, the best chowder I have ever made. While I didn`t use Calamari, or Clams, I chose to use extra shrimp, crab and scallops. Five of my friends have asked for this recipe, and I have no hesitation in recommending it to all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This was almost too easy to make! It tasted very good - especially considering the little effort required. I might try some tweaking next time for a more seafood-y flavor, maybe substitute clam juice for the water from the can of corn. Thank you - my mom & mother in law both asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Amazing! This is by far the best chowder I have ever had, and my family is from Maine! I tweaked it a bit, adding clam juice and omitting corn. This recipe is a hit in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apriln

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Excellent chowder! I used canned clams, fresh baby shrimp, and crab meat. I recommend softening the cream cheese before heating (or use soft cream cheese). I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I made it with clam juice and frozen corn instead. It came out really good. I impressed my boyfriend and I will definitley make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Delicious! I used frozen corn, clams, canned crab, and fresh shrimp. I also substituted fat free half-and-half for the milk, which made the soup decadently rich, but still low in fat! I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Excellent flavor for such an easy recipe! Used low fat ingredients in place of non-fat, frozen corn instead of canned, and clam juice for corn water. Heating mushroom soup and cream cheese together first and wisking is a better way to blend. I didn't watch soup carefully enough and it boiled causing the soup to brown on the bottom. This worked to my advantage because the brown flecks disguised the mushrooms which my husband ordinarily won't eat - ha, ha! He asked me to cut the pepper in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Awesome-- but I would lower the cayenne pepper down to 1/8 tsp-- I found it to be alittle to spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I like to cook healthy and this recipe was excellent. It was rich, creamy, full of flavor -- while being low in fat, and full of nutrition! I didn't change much from the original recipe. My boyfriend loved this too. Good work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States