Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I served this for Christmas Eve dinner when we wanted to do "the Feast of the 7 Fishes", so I added 1/2 pounds of 7 different kinds of fish/seafood. (I had to eliminate the corn since my husband can't eat that.) It was wonderful! Hearty and very satisfying! Would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Delicious chowder! I also tweaked the recipe by sauteing 3/4 cup of chopped celery in one tablespoon of butter until crisp-tender. I added this along with the other vegetables. I substituted one cup of frozen corn and one half cup of water for the canned corn. No calamari for us. The next time I make this I will steam the carrots and potatoes before adding to the pot. Twenty five minutes was not enough cooking time for them. Perhaps this chowder will become a Christmas Eve Dinner tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Yes Yes Yes....Was amazed how easy and how good this recipe is! The only tweakes I made was to use Lobster and no calamori as added a couple strips of bacon. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
OMG! AWESOME! I omitted the onions and carrots and used claw crabmeat (has much more flavor for a soup). I also sub 1/2 cup of the milk for half/half. I am making it again today. My BFF Rose said it could be served in a 5 star rest. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe with the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoniLuvsLife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Potatoes and carrots definitely needed to have been cooked more. Next time I will also leave out the corn. Other than that I liked the flavor. Thanks! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was a great recipe, increased the amount of shrimp, didn't have calamari, but followed the recipe otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This is the best seafood chowder I ever made and easy to make. I used a bag of frozen seafood mix (Walmart,Shoprite,most grocery frozen seafood section) and small bag frozen shrimp which worked out perfect. Still add the clams as the juice of the clams is needed. I added a cup extra milk too. Next time I plan on using scallops. I had no cayenne pepper so I used hot sauce and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
WOW!!! Made this last night and it was a HUGE hit, even my picky seven and three year olds asked for seconds! Only changes I made was use clams instead of calamari, I didn't have any, and added clam juice as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Love!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This chowder was super delicious and very easy to make. I used canned seafood (red salmon, clams, crab meat, tiny shrimps), but it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States