Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Great and easy recipe base! I added way more meats and potatoes though. I ended up using a pound of shrimp, 5 cans of whole/chopped cans, and more veggies in order to make this a very filling and hearty meal. I left out the calamari, scallops and crabmeat since they cost more than I felt would add to the recipe. My wife and roomate loved it. Would be five stars however, I adjusted the recipe not warranting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Loved it! Made a double batch - 1 with neufchatel cheese and the other with low fat cream cheese. My decision to make this came when I was cleaning my freezer out and found 2 lbs of sea scallops. Unfortunately the scallops were bad so I substituted 2 lbs shrimp, 1 lb crabmeat and a 51 oz Costco container of chopped clams. I divided all seafood among both batches. I also used the clam juice from the can...divided. It made the chowder a bit thinner, which also extended the servings. I ended up simmering the soup mixture close to one hour (before adding the seafood) because my husband was running late for dinner and I didn't want to overcook the seafood. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Excellent recipe! I did some changes with what I had at home, for instance, instead of milk, I heated water and added coffee creamer, which made it rich (in lieu of milk, cream cheese and mushroom soup). I added canned salmon, fresh squid and grouper and shrimp. Also white flour as a thickener. This recipe was my foundation and inspiration.. Thanks for providing it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This recipe is amazing! I added bacon by cooking it first and deglazing with a small amount of white wine. Then I added milk, cream cheese and followed the original recipe. I added shrimp, scallops, and clams (with juice) but you can pretty much put in anything you want. I might experiment with chunks of a hearty fish like Halibut. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AV8R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
it's great! so rich and tasty - I just added celery and Parmesan to make the taste more vivid and zesty(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nastya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Salha.K
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
It was REALLY GOOD. I prefered to add fresh parsely instead of dried when I added the seafood to cook. I only used shrimps, calamari and scallops. Also, I added a veggie bouillon for extra kick. Its great for next day meal also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salha.K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This is a MUST TRY! Used half and half instead of milk (don't shoot me) and used shrimp and clams as the seafood. Had leftover zucchini and yellow squash so chopped them up as well and used Cream of Potato Soup because I was lazy. Too yummy!!!! Perfect! Super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
The tastiest chowder ever! I used cod instead of calimari and added extra cayenne. I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Magnuson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
A Keeper. I did add and subtract to my liking. No calamari this time, added clam juice, used frozen corn and used bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I modified this a tad. I fried some Pancetta bacon with galric and a shallot first and threw potatoes in thinly sliced with a 1/4 cup of chicken broth to soften potatoes up. I omitted the scallops used a seafood medley and added a full can of clams. I used a cup of 1% milk. and threw a chopped lobster tail in for last 10 mins. This was a huge hit. Very rich but didn't give you the iron gut feeling after. Thanks for the lower fat recipe! I never thought I would make chowder without the cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States