Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Awesome chowder!!! Thank you so much for the recipe! I did change it slightly. I sautéed the green onions, potatoes, and garlic before adding them to the milk and cream cheese mixture. I left out the corn and carrots (preference). I added Old Bay Seasoning, and cut back on the Cayenne because of that (did 50/50 of each). I only used the Shrimp, Scallops, Crab Meat, and 1 Can of Clams with the Clam juice. Awesome!! Will make again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Delicious. It is the best seafood chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Yum, we loved it. I didn't use fat free, I used whole flavor foods and added about a 1/2 tsp of salt. We really enjoyed this! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I used white fish and shrimp and it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Great recipe. I made some changes: I put chopped mini red potatoes with skins left on and diced carrots and onions in a pot that I had just fried small pieces of bacon. I drained the bacon fat and removed the bacon pieces and set aside. I added four tablespoons of sherry and steamed the veggies in it. When the veggies were a bit cooked, but still quite firm, I added a can of low sodium New England clam chowder and two tablespoons of light cream cheese. Meanwhile, in a frying pan, I put three tablespoons of butter and cooked on low heat haddock, previously frozen jumbo shrimp, salmon, and a bit of lobster and scallops. Cooking the seafood a bit in butter exaggerates the seafood flavour. I added 1% milk to the large pot and added chopped dill, parsley, the cayenne and my secret ingredient that a chef told me about: Pernod. Just a capful. Incredible. Nova Scotia Seafood Chowder - delicious. Note: no corn was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Quick dinner and a perfect base for a great chowder, you can adjust to your taste. I made it as specified except for the carrots and shrimp (husband forgot them at the store). We loved it. Now to adjust for our taste to make it even better I will add smoked salmon. Just to add a little more flavor. But no complaints. I had this dinner done in 45 minutes with lots of relaxing time. That is my kind of dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Clinton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Absolutely love this. My boyfriend has never liked a chowder in his life but now has me making this once a month. We substitute lobster instead of calamari and it's delicious. We also add the clam juice along with the water from the corn because otherwise it's a little too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Amazing!!!! I only used shrimp and canned crab but the taste and texture was amazing. I didn't use any carrots and even used canned diced potatoes to reduce time because I was in a hurry. Will do again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this recipe three times now. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ohliveuhh
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Added some sausage in place of the calamari and added a little more cayenne pepper for more spice - this chowder is wonderful! My boyfriend and friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States