Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Excellent! I put crab and scallops in the chowder and added a can of cream of shrimp, fresh, potatoes, and carrots. I boiled the carrots and potatoes to soften them up before adding them to the chowder. I also added a can of cream of potato soup because my BF likes it really hardy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
this chowder was wonderful I did not change a thing. My family loved it. It had just the right texture and taste. I am making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmont, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Unbelievably good!!!!! You would never believe a chowder this fabulous was made in about an hour! So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
All I have to say is WOW! We spent a little more and bought good seafood from the Fresh Market, but it was worth it! We did use canned clams. I also used frozen corn instead of canned (I never use canned vegies) and just added some water to loosen up the thickness some. Other than that, this recipe was amazing and I'll definitely make it again! It makes a GREAT recipe for hosting dinner because it's a bit more on the fancy side, but so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I was skeptical of this recipe because of all the fat free products, but I was mistaken. I would not have changed this recipe a bit. My husband asked me to make this again, and I feel better giving him this healthy version of seafood chowder. This will be a household recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Outstanding recipe! After reading various other suggestions, I made a few modest changes. I used frozen corn, added the juice from the clams, further thinned the chowder with additional milk, used more garlic (4 small cloves), traded the parsley with Old Bay, and added a couple extra dashes of cayenne (I like spicy!). Furthermore, I made this recipe on the spur of the moment - so, I only had on hand uncooked frozen shrimp, canned clams and canned crab meat. I was very concerned that the canned seafood would diminish the flavor of the chowder - no need to worry - it was delicious! And even my foodie friends were impressed....they said it beat any restaurant seafood chowder they had eaten! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ladie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Amazing! I was cleaning out the fridge and freezer and so this is what I used - light cream, garlic, cream of mushroom soup, onions, carrots, potatoes, canned corn, 16 oz fresh mushrooms, 1 pound scallops, 1 pound salmon, 2 cans clams, salmon flavored cream cheese, 1 chopped red bell pepper, pepper, salt, parsley, and my favorite- dill. I didn't alter the recipe on purpose but had to use what was on hand. It was absolutely delicious. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyJen2009

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I have looked for a good chowder recipe for years and this is by far the best!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was the best Seafood Chowder I've had since eating it in Alaska. I omitted the calamari tubes and that is the only change I made. This will be made many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Made this today...followed others reviews and used less of the peppers (although my husband added them in his bowl after it was done) I used frozen corn so I used a jar of clam juice (8oz) I also added 1/2 cup white wine and some old bay seasoning. My husband likes seafood but is not much of a soup fan.....I can honestly say he just scarfed down 2 good sized bowls and said how good it was several times. Kids wouldnt touch it....but they are fussy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States