Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Outstanding recipe! After reading various other suggestions, I made a few modest changes. I used frozen corn, added the juice from the clams, further thinned the chowder with additional milk, used more garlic (4 small cloves), traded the parsley with Old Bay, and added a couple extra dashes of cayenne (I like spicy!). Furthermore, I made this recipe on the spur of the moment - so, I only had on hand uncooked frozen shrimp, canned clams and canned crab meat. I was very concerned that the canned seafood would diminish the flavor of the chowder - no need to worry - it was delicious! And even my foodie friends were impressed....they said it beat any restaurant seafood chowder they had eaten! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ladie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Amazing! I was cleaning out the fridge and freezer and so this is what I used - light cream, garlic, cream of mushroom soup, onions, carrots, potatoes, canned corn, 16 oz fresh mushrooms, 1 pound scallops, 1 pound salmon, 2 cans clams, salmon flavored cream cheese, 1 chopped red bell pepper, pepper, salt, parsley, and my favorite- dill. I didn't alter the recipe on purpose but had to use what was on hand. It was absolutely delicious. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyJen2009

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I have looked for a good chowder recipe for years and this is by far the best!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was the best Seafood Chowder I've had since eating it in Alaska. I omitted the calamari tubes and that is the only change I made. This will be made many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Made this today...followed others reviews and used less of the peppers (although my husband added them in his bowl after it was done) I used frozen corn so I used a jar of clam juice (8oz) I also added 1/2 cup white wine and some old bay seasoning. My husband likes seafood but is not much of a soup fan.....I can honestly say he just scarfed down 2 good sized bowls and said how good it was several times. Kids wouldnt touch it....but they are fussy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Soooo yummy! I made mine using lobster and clams and shrimp (hubby's from PEI, so we're lucky enough to always have jarred seafood on hand). Delicious! Thanks MyVintageMommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNIVSTUDENT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Very tasty and well received by the family. I added some extra milk to thin it a bit but in hind sight would have added less or none at all. I used fresh scallops, leftover lobster, and fresh cod. I couldn't find any canned clams but in the future would use them over the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
My husband loved this dish,said it was the best he has every had thats including restaurant. For me it was quick and easy.made it twice first time a little to spicy fr me so the next time i halfed cayenne pepper. thank you for a great recipe,and all the reviewers for there hints about this dish it hepled me tweak to our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
WOW! This is sooooo good!! We added more garlic because we LOVE garlic. But this is a great almost fat-free recipe!!! It was a little too spicy for me though (I'm a wimp) so I might decrease the black or cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Fantastic Chowder! I added extra cayenne pepper for a little kick. I highly recommend this for an easy delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States