Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Very, very good. I did not scimp on the fat-whole fat ingredients used. Totally creamy and delicious. I make this at least once a month. Also used 1 lb. of shrimp and scallops, omitted the calamari and added chopped imitation king crab. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I made a double batch and froze it. I have to say it tasted even better. It's one of the best chowders that I've eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Very good,and easy, I will be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Wonderful! I have made it twice already. I also shared this recipe with two of my coworkers and they both love it as well!!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Very good. I halved the recipe since I only needed enough for me and hubby, and tweaked the recipe based on what I had on hand. I added a healthy splash of wine to deglaze the pan after sauteeing a few slices of bacon and the veggies and spices (veg and spice added after bacon was removed). I used one 10oz can fat-free cream of mushroom soup, 1/2 cup+ white onion instead of green, several shakes of celery seed for flavor, no corn, no potato, 1 tsp chicken base/bouillon, and went light on the cayenne. Once I was ready to eat, I added some pre-cooked shrimp, a can of clams, and one can of crab meat to the pot. I would definitely make this again. If I'd planned ahead, I might have gone out to buy the other ingredients, but it's nice to know this recipe can be thrown together with a few changes in case of a seafood chowder emergency. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
by far the best chowder ever, so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was a pretty basic recipe but def. not 'full of flavour'. I added lots of other ingredients to the chowder in order for it to have SOME flavour. I added leeks, chicken stock, celery and even parmesan chesse. Made it better, but the recipe itself was wayy to bland for my taste..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babydollmisfit
Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a quick and easy recipe. It is also delicious. Thank you so much for sharing. I substitute lobster for the calamari and put in less cayenne pepper, but otherwise follow the ingredients exactly. I would suggest to start with less cayenne pepper and add as needed LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This is really good. I diced up 3 slices of Bacon & cooked until browned. I used the Bacon drippings to saute my veggies then added them to my pot. I usually use 2lbs of shrimp, canned clams with juice & crab meat. When serving I garnish it with the cooked bacon. My husband & kids love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi
Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!! What an easy and quick dish to make. Everyone loved it. I'm not a calamari or clam fan so I left those out and used more shrimp and scallops. This recipe will go in favorites file. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States