Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Omg...wow. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was fabulous! Husband kept saying how good it was. Daughter was afraid to eat when saw me putting in the seafood, but loved it once she tried it. Will definitely be making again. Worth serving to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I had this chowder at my son and daughter-in-law's house. It was awesome. My son made the soup and said it was a really simple recipe to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candy Sheppard
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
My 3 guys are complaining that a single batch is not enough. Marvelous recipe and I'll double or triple it next time. I skipped the carrots and used a bag of frozen, mixed seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Sheppard
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight and both my hubby and I went back for seconds. Made a few minor changes based on other reviews and what I had on hand. Plus I read the original recipe and thought it might be a little bland. My version turned out very good… we'll certainly enjoy the leftovers for lunch this week. I may make it again and keep "tweaking"; but I can't say I've found my ultimate seafood chowder recipe yet, so it gets 4 stars instead of 5. The changes I made: 1. I sautéed about a half cup each of finely chopped celery and sweet onion in about a tablespoon of butter with a heaping tablespoon of minced garlic. I added this along with the vegetables. 2. I used low fat cream cheese instead of fat free 3. I only had one small can of cream of mushroom soup, so I substituted in an additional small can of cream of celery soup that I had on hand instead of more cream of mushroom. (Have to mention that this yielded a pretty yummy veggie chowder before the seafood was added). 4. Skipped the cayenne pepper and added about a tablespoon (maybe a little more) of Old Bay 5. Traded the calamari for the conch I had in the freezer. Other notes *BE SURE TO USE ONLY LOW HEAT -- and you won't scorch anything and nothing will stick to the bottom of your pan! *Finely dice the carrots and potato and they will cook fully -- it does take about 30-35 minutes on low heat, not the 25 in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coralynn
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
First sautéed the onion, carrots in oil, simmered all in chicken stock including the diced potatoes. When vegies were cooked, Then added the condensed soup and cream cheese, canned corn, drained. Used clam juice as others recommended, it added a nice briney flavor. I also added Zatarians creole seasoning, about 1 tsp. I added mixed seafood, mussels, shrimp, calamari and scallops. Excellent! Company good. Doubled the recipe. Photo attached.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Super easy, super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
We really enjoyed this!! I used fish stock instead of corn juice and added little neck clams. Hubby took a vote "keeper" or not, he was happy we all liked it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Amazing!!! I've never had seafood chowder before but I love soup. I followed the recipe exactly except I did not have clams or calimari. The soup was still delicious even without those ingredients. I will be making this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklinville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I made a few seafood changes, but this was the most amazing lower fat chowder. I have ever made. I used shrimp, clams, mahi mahi, and bay scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States