Sea Salt Caramel Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Well I did this all wrong and even dropped the pan when removing from the oven. They slid to one end so I had to spread it back out across the pan. I lost a little to the floor. What was left was still delicious. Maybe mixing them up after baking is the key!! Now getting it off the floor was a different story!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolateflowers
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This is a very good recipe and everyone in my family loves these. I think the recipe should be more specific about the milk. To solve the caramel issue, use HEAVY CREAM to melt the caramels into sauce. If you don't have cream, use WHOLE MILK (2% or less fat milk has TOO MUCH water that will just cook away during baking, making the caramels hard and chewy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This looked better in the picture. I baked the batter for about 10 min first to prevent the caramel from sinking to the bottom. The idea worked, but the top of the caramel got a bit burnt (making the brownie look unappetizing), and the rest of the caramel that was absorbed into the brownie was just very gooey. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
GREAT - with a little adjustment! Made 2 batches. First had the problem with caramel sinking and getting way too chewy on the bottom but crumbly on top. To correct the problem, we baked the brownie mix alone for 5 minutes, removed from oven and added the caramel, and then continued to bake for the rest of the time. They were perfect! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This recipe is ok. I followed the directions and microwaved the caramels and they melted nicely with some milk. To prevent the caramel from sticking I sprayed the bowl with a small amount if cooking spray. Worked like a charm. Overall to sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Before I made this, I read a review of it that said the caramel sinks and sticks to the bottom of the pan, and I figured that person must have done it wrong. But then I made this recipe exactly as described, and the caramel did stick to the bottom, making the brownies impossible to get out in one piece, and leaving me with a pan almost impossible to clean. The caramel that did manage to stay inside the brownies is hard and candied, not gooey like I'd hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Loved it. Staff party at work are every crumb within minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
These are kind of weird......If you don't eat them hot, they could crack your teeth. The thing I didn't like, is after microwaving the caramel, it doesn't just smoothly pour on. It is clumpy and blobs on the brownies. There is no uniformity to how it pours on. They tasted good, but the lumpy, hard caramel was kind of hard to eat. The saving grace was the salted caramel. The flavors were good, but it doesn't quite work. One reviewer suggested melting the caramel with cream, that would be better, I think. Also, after melting the caramel, the bowl was soooo hard to wash. If you run into that problem, pour some boiling water in the bowl to get the hard caramel off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Made this the other day , using the recipe for Best Brownies ( found on this site ) , instead of a boxed mix . Sprinkled less salt on top than called for . Easy to do , and tasted good . I would make this again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This recipe is so delicious! The only thing I changed was that I used around 2 TBS of heavy cream instead of milk and I melted it together with the caramels on the stovetop instead of the microwave. Our caramel is not too chewy. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EPFielding
Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Chocolate and Sea Salt Crostini

See how to make a savory chocolate crostini appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States