Sea Bass with Honeyed Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
FANTASTIC! The combo of apples, honey and fish sounds gross but this is a great recipe! My husband says it's the best fish he's ever eaten, and he's a staunch "keep it simple" New Englander. The dish is like having dinner and dessert on one plate. I used real butter VS. margarine so added some olive oil to raise the frying temp for the fish without burning the butter. The crust came out a bit blackened for me but it was not "burnt" but "caramelized". Hubby gave this five stars, so do I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Tried this tonight, jan 19-03, on my executive VP girlfriend and she loved it, put it with creamy mashed potatoes and balsamic/walnut brussel sprouts, which gave a sweet/sour accent to this sweet/fish dish. I would reccommend a viognier to go with this, like napa Arrow-wood or sonoma's Christopher creek viognier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Like the others, I was a little skeptical of the combinations in this dish. It came out wonderful! I used striped bass, and I think you can experiment with many different white fish types and have good results with this dish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
This recipe was absolutely fantastic. I didn't have enough apples on hand, so used half peeled apples and half peeled nectarines and it was wonderful. Also, being a bit health conscious, I sprinkled a little wheat germ in with the bread crumb. Tried this recipe on my husband, who loved it, and now can't wait to serve it to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FMDEMAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe (I used catfish), but my kids didn't like it at all. I would make it again but would tweak the recipe slightly. First, I would saute onions with the apples for the topping. Second, I would substitute something else for the bread crumbs -- maybe crushed buttery crackers -- because I didn't care for the bread crumb flavor. (If using bread crumbs; two cups is excessive; 1 cup would be adequate). Oh, and make sure somebody else has clean up duty because this recipe uses a lot of dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Ugh! This didn't work at all. Cooking times were waaaay off. Also, butter burns much too quickly for the fillets to cook through. This recipe should stipulate that fillets must be very thin for them to cook through before the butter starts to burn. Fillets must be approximately 1/2 inch. Otherwise, what you can do it simply pan-sear the fillets and when they are fried, put them in the oven at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Denzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Yum! I didn't measure anything so got a little carried away with the honey but, this was fantastic! Will definitely make this again. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I was skeptical of this recipie, but had a beautiful piece of Sea Bass to use. Didn't want to go out shopping and had apples and honey - who doesn't? It was wonderful and very easy. Only addittions were a smidge of red pepper flakes to the bread crumbs for an bit of zip and a teaspoon or so of lemon juice to the apples while frying. As another user suggested, I would add ground nuts - almonds, pistachios, walnuts - whatever to crumb crust if I have them on hand. To the user who complained about dishes - use wax paper for flour/crumb step. While my boyfriend raves about everything I prepare, he is still talking about this one. Will definately make again - soon. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Absolutely incredible!!! However, I think it could almost be called Bass Schnitzel! Never the less, we served the dish with rice (cooked in half chicken broth and half water) and sprinkled lemon on the rice. We also sliced the Bass into 2-3 inch slices, used 2 eggs, and combined all of the dry ingredients except for the cayenne pepper. We put the cayenne pepper on the fish while it was frying. Lastly, instead of using bread crumbs, we crushed high-end stuffing that added a lot more taste and texture. This was an EXCELLENT dish and I can't wait to thank my dad for catching the bass for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceSpiceBaby

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I was nervous about making this dish, and rightfully so. Like some other reviewers, I thought 2 cups of breadcrumbs was way too much. I also managed to burn the outside and have the inside raw. I have to take credit for this part of the screw-up ;D In the end, the apples were good but the Sea Bass (very expensive) was absolutely tasteless. I would do this recipe again, but with pork chops instad of Sea Bass. Sorry, I don't normally give bad reviews but I really, really didn't like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Chef John's Sea Bass a la Michele

Roasted sea bass and potatoes with sherry vinegar and smoked paprika vinaigrette.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States