Sea Bass with Honeyed Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This was great! My wife loved it, and she's usually not all for mixing fruit and meat. Served it with rice and squash. I used Catfish to great satisfaction. I agree with the previous posts that 2cups breadcrumbs is way too much - you can also do with less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I made this for the first time when I invited guests for dinner. It came out perfectly, I used catfish instead of sea bass. I selected Honey Crisp apples and they went perfectly with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Let me begin by saying that I did alter the recipe a little, so my rating may not apply. I did not have sea bass, instead I had Mahi Mahi. Also, I used real butter instead of margerine. Regardless, it was not what I hoped for. The 2 cups of bread crumbs were entirely way too much. I would say that even 1 cup will do. The apples were good, but again way too much for four filets. (maybe my apples were bigger than the recipe called for. I might use the apple part with say some pork chops, but I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
Fish turned out great - I used corn flakes instead of flour. I found the apples too overpowering for the fish, I would cut way down on the amount of apples for this dish. I'm giving a four because it could have been the fish I used - Turbot. Next time I will try a stronger fish, like catfish as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I really liked this recipe. My husband was so-so. My six year old? Forget it. Anything new and he won't have it. He liked the fish though. Here are the changes I made. I don't care for bread crumbs. I used Ritz crackers. I also added some onion to my apple mixture. I think it would have been better if I hadn't added so much. (An entire Vidalia.) I wouldn't omit it all together though. I deep fried my fish. Mmmm, good! To the lady that said clean-up was a hassle. Use ziploc bags for the flour, egg and cracker dips. Then just throw them away. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
EXCELLENT!!!!!! I used frozen bass from Costco and canned fiji apples so I didn't have to cut and peel the apples, and I used a tasty fish seasoning mixture instead of just regular flour, salt, and pepper. This was excellent!!!! Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Great recipe. We used fresh sea bass and it turned out very tasty. The crispy breading was delicious and the apples were just another wonderful addition to the fish. I will cook just the apples in the future to top ice cream, pork chops or other white fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Anything voted keeper by my husbands standards gets a 5 with me. The only changes I made were the type of fish. The market had no sea bass and the halibut didn't look good so I ended up with sole. I also added chopped pecans to the apple topping. Quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Tried mixing apples and pears and used less butter - the variety in the fruit was nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe (I used catfish), but my kids didn't like it at all. I would make it again but would tweak the recipe slightly. First, I would saute onions with the apples for the topping. Second, I would substitute something else for the bread crumbs -- maybe crushed buttery crackers -- because I didn't care for the bread crumb flavor. (If using bread crumbs; two cups is excessive; 1 cup would be adequate). Oh, and make sure somebody else has clean up duty because this recipe uses a lot of dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States