Sea Bass with Honeyed Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
The Honeyed apples were a treat, but cooking the fish requires a little more direction. I would use Olive oil with less butter to fry the fish so that the butter does not burn. I used Panko bread crumbs and that worked well. Make sure to peel the skin off the sea bass fillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I was running late and didn't have time to bread it (plus no bread or breadcrumbs on hand) so I fried it with salt and pepper. Next time I'll be use to bread it I think it would be better. Use fresh local honey and the sauce was great. Not too fond of the bass I had so I think next time will be with cod instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: High River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
My husband loved this recipe. I thought the honeyed apples made the bass alot fishyier than I would like it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Grimshaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I love fish. I enjoy cooking what I catch. Usually it is either deep fried, fried on the stove or sometimes grill in foil on the gas grill. Whatever the case, I generally have plenty of tarter sauce on hand to accompany the dish. This recipe however DOES NOT need anything else. Aside from my undercooking the Stripped Bass fillet due to the thickness, it turned out to be a real hit with everyone at the table. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
The apples in this recipe were great on their own. The sea bass didn't come out very well. I think my piece was too thick, it didn't pan fry in the time allotted and ended up burnt on the outside and raw in the middle. I might try it again with a thinner piece of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Quick and easy to do. I used panko instead of breadcrumbs and it gave it a little more crisp. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was very good! I used catfish and ritz crackers instead of breadcrumbs, and did marinate the fish in milk and hotsauce for a couple hours in the fridge before prepping. All I would change next time is to add a lot more hot sauce/cayenne in the recipe somewhere, as the spice goes really well with the sweet. I served it with acorn squash and new potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Everybody loved it . The honey apples were a sensation. I will surely do it again and often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
this was just such a different taste that it makes it hard to rate. i used tilapia and crushed ritz instead of sea bass and bread crumbs, and cut down on the toppping (i had 2 small fillets and used half a large apple, and it was plenty). i used the tilapia mainly because it really absorbs flavor, but next time i will go looking for sea bass. i made this for myself (i cut the recipe way down) for rosh hashuna, when it is traditional to eat dishes with apple; my family made a chicken dish, but i don't eat meat. i think this may become my rosh hashuna dish of choice, but perhaps only for the holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I was very surprised at how well this went together, considering the ingredients. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States