Sea Bass Cuban Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
My entire family loved this. My grocery store didn't have sea bass, so I settled for tilapia, but was still great! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I really enjoyed the sauce for this dish. This was my first time buying/cooking sea bass and I think I'm not that crazy about the fish itself. I would consider making this again with another fish like cod or halibut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
My first instinct after reading through the recipe was that this seemed like a heck of a lot of sauce for just a few filets--it was. Half the amount would have been more than enough. I stuck to the recipe exactly, and hubby and I were both very pleased. The simmering brings all the flavors together nicely. I actually liked the sauce better than the fish (I did use sea bass), as I didn't particularly care for the filets poached. Were I to make this again I would pan roast the filets--I missed that beautiful golden color and semi-crispy exterior. I served this over a bed of Saffron Rice,accompanied with Cuban Black Beans I and Jicama Salad with Cilantro and Lime, all recipes from this site. A pretty, delicious and interesting Cuban style dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Perfect for any white fish. Use like salsa topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
My New Years Resolution is to learn to cook fish and this was my first recipe. It was easy and very very tasty. The recipe is very easy to follow, the ingredients are common (I hate when the ingredients are random and difficult to find), and it tasted very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Subtle yet Amazing Taste! This recipe is dead-on, and the key is to use FRESH sea bass. I am not a fan of olives, so I leave those out, but other than that, I follow the recipe exactly. My family loves this as well. Remember: "Never cook with a wine that you wouldn't drink yourself!" I would recommend using at least a $12 wine if you can...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I feel bad about throwing off the ratings, but we really didn't like this. I used tilapia, canned instead of fresh tomatoes, black olives instead of green, No capers, and upped the red pepper flakes to 1/4. The sauce didn't thicken, so I had to add cornstarch. Maybe all this is enough to change the taste of the recipe, but I wouldn't chance trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is a really tasty and also simple recipe. It also reminds me of Fish "Veracruzano" style from the Mexican Atlantic coast. I decided to test it before I make it for Thanksgiving and I have to say I'm sure to keep making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was very good. I made it with Talapia and still turned out to be a great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Great flavor and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States