Sea Bass Cuban Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This was so good! I made 2 1/2 substitutions in this recipe...first, I could not find sea bass anywhere in this town, so I used rockfish, second, I couldn't find my red pepper flakes anywhere, either, so I used a pinch of cayenne! The 1/2 substitution was in the form of using a shallot in place of an onion...they are in the same ballpark, so it only counts as a half! Delicious recipe and I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
very good. very mild flavor. easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This recipe was delicious. I did not have white wine and instead substituted a Pinot Noir. It came out delicious. I recommend using vidalia or purple onions and then cook then onions to a medium brown to carmelize the sugar in the onions. This will bring out the sugars in the onions and help counteract the salty olives and capers. I'm sure I'll keep making this and trying different fish each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Very nice! But the caper flavor was a tad bit strong. I omitted the olives since my boyfriend absolutely hates them, and I added crimini mushrooms. I'll cut down on the amount of tomatoes next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I felt so strongly about this recipe I had to review it. I made it tonight for dinner and it was a huge hit. I made it with halibut because it was $18.99 a lb. opposed to sea bass that was $25 a lb. Everyone loved it. It was easy to make and was delicious. I even had one guest ask to take home the left over sauce. There was no fish leftover but the sauce was so good he wanted to take it home. FYI don't make the same mistake I did. I bought the mini sugar plum tomatoes and had to cut and take the seed out of what felt like 200 tomatoes. Try and find the larger version of plum tomatoes and this recipe will be easy breezy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was much better than I thought it would be. Lots of flavor. The one change was I used chicken broth instead of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
The only mistake I made with this recipe was serving it on a weeknight -- there wasn't enough time to enjoy it! It is definitely a "company quality" recipe. Thanks so much for sharing it -- yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I made this with tilapia filets because Sea Bass is expensive! It tasted great but alas my kids are no much for fish dishes unless it is fried. I think the next time I will try it with boneless chick brests instead. Love the flavor or the sauce over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bud W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
We were both very surprised at how this turned out. About half way through the cooking we lifted the lid to smell it and joked that we should get the pizza phone number out. But after the first bite we were sold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Used fresh Rock Cod and it was really good. The only real alteration was to lightly coat in (sifted) flour and par fry first. I didn't have any fresh cilantro so used "fresh" paste. It was very flavorful dish. Thank you for new fish idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States