Scrumptious Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Found this way too sweet and runny. Usually for Eastern Canada we don't sweeten our vegetable dishes, this was way too much. The second time I made this, I reduced the white sugar by 3/4 and the milk in half. I also halved the amount of brown sugar for the topping and used a light hand for that. The casserole turned out firmer and much better tasting. Next time I think I will add some orange zest for a little zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I made this with a large/tall can of sweet potatoes (about 4 2/3 cups) in a 9x14 dish. There wasn't enough sweet potatoes, and too much topping. It was still delicious and super sweet. Next time, I'll use less sugar when using canned, & add some spices, but maybe not as much milk when using canned. Might not use all the topping next time either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOPEYDUCK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I'm not a big fan of sweet potatoes but made this special for my dad's wife for Christmas dinner. Oh my was this ever delish and everyone inhaled it. Sent a couple people home with the recipe. The only thing I did different was to add a bit less sugar than called for. Very easy recipe and I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anacortes, Washington, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Quite good. I especially liked the crust on top, and think I may drizzle a bit of maple syrup into it next time. The only problem I found was that the potatoes seemed to lose a bit of their flavor with all of the milk such mixed in, but I think this was probably more a function of it being hard to get good sweet potatoes in Germany. But, like others said, even people who don't like sweet potatoes were eating this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This recipe was delicious! The only things I changed were using an 8x8 pan and only 1/2 cup of white sugar. It tasted fantastic! Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
My husband loves sweet potato casserole so I decided to make one this Thanksgiving. I have never cared for it myself. I tried it, it turned out great. My husband raved and even I loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanger, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Very good. I followed the recipe exactly except for the addition of a teas of lemon extract with the vanilla. I think that's a good combo. Anyway I had to cook it a little longer than specified but I loved it. Even a few sweet potato "haters" were brave enough to try it and reported it was good. I did have two people though that said it was "too sweet" but hey there is a lot of sugar so it could easily be cut down. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This got rave reviews. I used an 8x8 pan and about 3/4 of the topping. For Thanksgiving, I will double it and use a 9x13. Thanks for the great recipe, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I don't even like sweet potatoes, but I LOVED this. I made it for Christmas and Easter and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
This recipe is fantastic!!! I made this the first time because I was just looking for something different to do when asked to bring sweet potatoes for a holiday dinner. I haven't been able to bring anything else to holiday functions since! It is the first thing requested everytime! It is a family favorite and a holiday dinner staple now! Thanks for such a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States