Scrumptious Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This was the first recipe I made from allrecipes.com and my introduction to the site. A friend made this for us and we loved it. She gave me the printout and I've been making sweet potatoes this way since. No more marshmallows for us. The only variations that I have made are more sweet potatoes without increasing the other ingredients. Turned out just fine. Also, I have made this recipe using butternut squash and people loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
More like a dessert than a side dish. We still love it at Thanksgiving. It's easy to make the day before & cook when you need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Delicious.....Thanks! I will cook this for Thanksgiving. I scaled the recipe down to fit my small family but other than that I followed the recipe to a T. It tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
My sister won't let me come to a holiday dinner without this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I found this recipe several years ago, when I was cooking Thanksgiving for only a couple people, all whom were not sweet potato lovers. This recipe won them over and someone from my family makes it every year. We even fight about who gets the leftovers! I take it to potluck dinners and it is always a hit. Make double the amount! It takes like pie!! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Yumm Yumm !!! I am tired of the coconut version so I searched for a new recipe.. This is it!! I changed the serving size to 20 and it came out perfect... I used a bit less sugar.. I would add it to taste that way it won't come out too sweet. Everyone loved it. Thank You So much for Sharing !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I only gave this a 3 star rating because it is WAAYYYYY TOOOOOOOOO SWEET if prepared with as much sugar as this recipe calls for. (And I have a sweet tooth!). I cut the white sugar to 1/3 cup and the brown sugar to 1/8 cup. With those changes, it's a definate 5 star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
best way to eat Sweet potatoes! If you arent crazy about marshmallows then try this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYABD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Found this way too sweet and runny. Usually for Eastern Canada we don't sweeten our vegetable dishes, this was way too much. The second time I made this, I reduced the white sugar by 3/4 and the milk in half. I also halved the amount of brown sugar for the topping and used a light hand for that. The casserole turned out firmer and much better tasting. Next time I think I will add some orange zest for a little zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States