Scrumptious Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 30, 2003
Good recipe but I like to spice it up a little. I add 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon ginger, and 1/4 teaspoon cloves. Also, doesn't need milk it's moist enough without it. Add the spices and I'd give this recipe a 5+ stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatStull

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bucklesberry, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This was an excellent recipe. I did omitt the milk as I thought it was already quite moist. Made it for supper for quests and was very pleased with the results and compliments that I got. I will continue to use this recipe in the future. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This is almost the same as my recipe,it varies in sugar and butter amount. For 3 cups sweet potatoes, I use 3 small cans of Taylor brand. I like to heat them up a bit for easier mixing in the microwave just until warm (but not necesary). Add 1/4-1/2 cup sugar, 2 eggs, 1/3 cup butter at room temperature, but can use right out of frige if potatoes are warm. Also add 1 tsp. vanilla ext. and 1tsp. salt.( no liquids.) Blend in mixer till smooth. Topping: 1/2 c. melted margarine, 1/2-3/4 c. brown sugar(light) Depending on how sweet you want it,and 1 c chopped nuts. I put in a 10 inch deep dish pie plate,(not necesary to grease dish) Bake 350 for 25 min. Everyone loves this dish. My kids won't touch sweet potatoes, so I don't know how kid freindly this is, but anyone who likes sweet potatoes and nuts will love this. It is a sweet vegetable and like a dessert, but I would never serve as a dessert. There are different versions of this recipe, you can't really go wrong with them. Thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
So good! I won't make my sweet potatoes any other way! I skip the topping and simply sprinkle some pecans on top and it is wonderful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
This was very good and easy to make for ease of prep use a large can of yams thanks southernman cookin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southernmancooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
My whole family loved this recipe - it was a definite hit with our 17-month-old! I also added diced apples to the casserole. Yummy! We'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
I have made many versions of sweet potato casserole, but this is my favorite! My husband loved it. I used a 29 oz. can of yams instead of fresh ones and it came out great. I just drained and mashed them. Great recipe, easy and delicious, especially the pecan topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Excellent. Probably would have been better if I would have remembered the butter in the topping mixture, but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Im an American living in Sweden and I must say that this was loved by all the Swedes when I made it for Christmas. I grew up eating this for Christmas. So, I can honestly say that this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American in Sweden

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Uddevalla, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
This recipe is exceptional! This is the best sweet potato casserole I have ever had and I will make it again. BUT it is very rich and sweet. Almost like a desert. So I could only eat a little bit at a time. This is a great casserole for a church pot-luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States