Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
I have never tried Strawberry Shortcake before and this was pretty delicious. I added a Strawberry Bourbon Syrup to it and it really took it over the top. I made the recommended revisions (No cream of tartar, 3 tea spoon baking powder instead of 4, egg white wash with sugar before baking). It is a nice combination between a biscuit and cookie texture - a bit dry for my taste but it actually grows on you the more you eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
My family all agreed it is the best shortcake they had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
These are delish. They do crumble so I just broke them into pieces and put them in a bowl with the strawberries on top. I also kneaded the dough in the bowl instead of making a mess with flour on the counter. Then I just tore pieces away and put them on the cookie sheet that way to make them kind of puffy and they did. Right before baking them, I sprinkled sugar on top. Wow...this is certainly a keeper...woohoo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reachkimo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stella Reynoso
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Super easy AND delicious! I skipped the cream of tarter like someone recommended and dropped the baking powder to 3 teaspoons, then pulsed the dry ingredients + butter in my food processor until crumbly and dumped into a large mixing bowl to receive the wet ingredients. Whisked the egg before adding it into the mixture with the cream, then kneaded directly inside the bowl until it came together. Instead of rolling it out, I quickly divided it into 12 individual balls, flattened on a parchment-lined baking sheet, then sprinkled a touch of sugar on top for extra crunch. The result was a crumbly, crispy, crunchy, soft, buttery shortcake that paired beautifully with fresh strawberries, as well as the "Lime and Tequila Infused Strawberries" recipe from this site too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Made just like the recipe with the exception of substituting 1/2 & 1/2 for the heavy cream just because that is what I had on hand. Very good. The short cakes were light and fluffy. We'll hang onto this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
The only change I made was using 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar. These little biscuits came out so buttery and flaky! Pretty close to perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris Lopez
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Used for strawberry short cake it was yummy and nice and flaky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Lopez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Decent recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
These are totally awesome! They are easy to make and the flavor takes regular strawberry shortcake to a higher level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Split glazed doughnut layered with sweet strawberries and freshly whipped cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States