Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Great, quick, and easy shortcake recipe! I reduced the baking powder by 1 tsp. & added 2 tsp of vanilla extract as other reviews suggested. I served it w homemade whipped cream & a strawberry and blueberry mixture (w little sugar) that was saturating overnight. Lovely summer dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
We did a strawberry shortcake taste test at our house. We had a traditional biscuit type shortbread and this one. My company enjoyed the biscuit type shortbread more than this recipe and I have to agree. The high butter to flour ratio made this taste more like shortbread. It was fine, but when we did the taste test, the samplers perferred the way the biscuit type soaked up the juices and balanced so nicely with the strawberries and whipped cream There just is soooo much unncessary fat in this shortcake. I think we'd rather save our calories for the whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
wonderful, made half a recipe and it turned out perfect, did double the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I bake a lot of stuff at home and frequently work with different types of dough. I noticed the dough was a little dry and increased the whipping cream to 1 cup and the sugar to 1/2 cup. The result was excellent. Try adding some cinnamon and vanilla to the strawberries. Overall this was an excellent dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I'm sorry, I must not be a "traditional strawberry shortcake" kinda person. I found the shortcake very dry. I made this by following all the ingredients and directions to a t, thinking by the rating, it would be the perfect start to a summer get-together. NO ONE liked it! I was so disappointed, Everyone agreed that it was too dry, and tasteless. :-( (We ended up pouring coffee creamer over the top, to give it more flavor...which actually helped....but, even the kids didn't like it!) The shortcakes were fine on their own, but just didn't agree with my taste buds. I prefer strawberry shortcake on pound-cake, or angel-food cake.... If you are looking for TRADITIONAL strawberry shortcake, you'll probably like this! Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Very nice texture with the indicated amount of cream of tartar however, it could be more flavorful its actually pretty bland. Will use again with more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Novi Sad, Vojvodina, Serbia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Best shortcake ever, definitely beat's grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
The shortcake has a really good texture, flaky and slightly chewy at the same time, but it isn't too flavorful. My husband loved it but I still prefer a sweeter cake-like shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Followed the recipe however I felt it was lacking. I did not enjoy this and will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aminarva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
It was just okay...it came out denser than I expected...too rich of a butter taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States