Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I used 2 cups of all-purpose flour, and substituted the 3rd cup with 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of cornmeal. I used whole milk instead of cream and I think the mix was a little wetter that way, so I spread it in a 13X9 pan instead of kneading and making separate biscuits. Oh my, it was so delicious. This is my forever shortcake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Easy and delicious! A little on the dry side but I liked that... It soaks up more strawberry juice that way. I think next time I will sprinkle cinnamon and sugar on the shortcakes before I bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Very dense cake pieces. Pretty simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This was a great shortbread recipe. Very simple and tasty. If you are looking for the sugary, cake-like store version, this will NOT do for you. But if you're looking for a dense shortcake, this is perfect. I did modify it to make it even easier, though. Here's what I did: Omit the cream of tarter. Knock the baking powder down to 3 teaspoons, and cut the butter in HALF. That's waaaay too much butter. I mixed it all by hand in a bowl, added egg and cream, and continued to mix in the bowl. Then, formed rough biscuit patties by hand and put them on a baking sheet. They turned out GREAT, rising and tasting delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I followed this exactly but i used milk because that is all i had, no cream of tartar, and reduced Baking Powder as most suggested. I am not sure what went wrong but the first batch looked pretty but had a really sharp after taste. So the next batch i added more sugar and vanilla extract- still a very bitter after taste. I would really love to know what caused this. I keep my baking soda in the pantry and it wasnt expired, but i did use great value butter. I know my grandma always said biscuits need good butter- maybe that was the problem? If anyone knows why please reply to this-i really would like to get this right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Best recipe ever! I just need to say that my cake took much more than 20 min in the oven. But the are sooo good! :) Thank you Sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Most delicious dessert I have had in quite some time. This is a MUST try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This turned out pretty good with using some changes in most of the reviews I read. I did increase the sugar to 1/2 cup, omitted the cream of tartar, also had no heavy cream so I used 1/2 n 1/2. This is not the recipe for someone who wants cake with there strawberries and cream, but I did enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Delicious! I couldn't resist eating some without the berries & whipped cream. Yummy shortbread! I also zested a little lemon rind in it. It was a big hit at our Easter gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States