Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
My husband made these (who doesn't bake) and they turned out WONDERFULLY! We will completely make them again. Made exactly as written. We are big fans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
perfect biscuit shortcake for strawberries. used 2% milk since had no heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULLUM
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Was great-- no changes- delicious! Texture a little firmer than we are used to but still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Devine shortcake recipe, that is all I can say. I also make it for breakfast to eat with jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Awesome!!! I read one reviewer noted they were dry. These are a kind of dry shortcake- perfect for soaking up the strawberry juice, YUMMMM!!!! I thought the taste was spot on. I froze the butter then shredded it into the dry mix and it worked great. Also I did not use cream of tarter; and used a little less baking powder as indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
It taste like a plain biscuit.. Extremely dissapointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Light as a feather, flaky and the not so pretty ones you make from the scratch at the end we eat while warm! I sprinkle the top of the dough with raw sugar and gently press in before cutting. So pretty with a sugary crunch. I never kneed 2 minutes. I kneed it over gently maybe 7 times until the dough is soft but the butter is still small pea sized pieces. I also used cream and milk. I won't use another recipe! (For the people who had dry shortcakes- not enough liquid or baked too long. Mine have always come out perfect. I add more liquid if needed until it feels right)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Pretty good taste wise, but the texture of the biscuit wasn't quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Changed a lot to make it healthier! Substituted 2cups of wheat flour for 2 cups of the white. So one cup white 2 cups wheat. Blended 2 apples and a quarter cup of Splenda and added it to the dry ingredients (no butter or egg) used Splenda in place of white sugar in all areas. Added about a quarter cup of while milk instead of cream. Turned out really good! And much healthier for all of my friends losing weight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
It was really delicious and much easier than I imagined strawberry shortcake to be. I didn't use cream of tartar b/c I couldn't find any. Had to add a little flour at the end to make the batter less sticky. Followed the advice of other reviewers and used 3 tsp. of baking powder instead of 4. Kneaded dough right in the bowl and divided it into 12 balls (half flattened). Baked it about 20 min. Topped with homemade whipped cream and a little powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States