Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Fabulous!!! I had to add an extra egg (my first one was small) and a dash of fat free milk to get the batter to stick together. The shortcakes were not dry at all once baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Delicious. Next time I'll puree some of the strawberries for more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Foley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
OK, really lovely shortcake. I didn't want to make minor changes, had too. I have been trying to come up with some sweet things for my DH who needs to bring his cholesterol down. I followed it exactly as written except I used non dairy creamer. I was nervous that it would ruin it. It came out wonderful. Light, airy, perfectly sweetened, super easy. I served it with fresh strawberries and blueberries and lite whipped topping. Just great. Honey, didn't notice a thing. And he is the beaker of detection on things nonfat, sugar free, diet, missing out kind of stuff. I am so confident now that next time I am using Splenda. 5 stars from me! Have made this a few times now.Still 5 stars! The best shortcake we have ever had! Wanted to add in a few thoughts... The recipe does not give detailed instructions on how to mix this. I am not very good making light pastry stuff. My pie crusts for example need work. Reading the reviews, it is important NOT to handle the dough much. The less the better. So I did things like whipping the egg in with the cream, added the dry ingredients and mixed really well before moving on, and I just used my fingers to the small pieces of cut up butter. Used my hands to gently mix in the end, with a quick roll out with my rolling pin. I followed the ingredients exactly. Did not cut out the cream of tarter as others suggested. Light, delicate, just great!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Can't get any better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELLE04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This came out dry and crumbly for me, but the taste was there so I'll probably work with this recipe again. If you are looking for a spongey shortcake, this is not the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I have NEVER tasted such a delicious shortcake in my life! It was so flavorful and not at all dry! I sliced up my strawberries with an egg slicer, and then pureed another cup of berries to make the berries juicier. I made this for a family event and everyone-adults and kids loved it!! No tartar necessary for this recipe. Will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I had to substitute 2% milk for the heavy cream, and I added some lemon zest. It turned out GREAT, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Great recipe. I made a few changes. I used brown sugar instead of white, 1 cup whole wheat + 2 cups white flour and only used 3 tsp baking powder as per other reviewer's suggestions. Turned out light and flakey! Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jowolf2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These were so delicious. I only added 3 tsp of baking powder and omitted the cream of tarter. I also added a tsp of vanilla extract. They came out nice and fluffy. I cut them into 6 large squares, brushed them with heavy cream and sprinkled sugar on top. What a treat! I actually found that they were better the next day. They were flakey and the edges were crispy. Went well with homemade whipped cream and strawberries that were cut hours earlier and mixed with sugar. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeloo
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States