Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I accidentally overcooked these the first time and they were still fabulous! You can imagine how yummy they'd be cooked right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Great shortcake recipe. Good enough to eat on its own. (Not that I would do that... ) I cut the baking powder to a little over 3tsp because of my 5000' altitude, and I didn't have any creme of tartar, but they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt T
Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I love this shortcake! I looked long and hard for a good shortcake recipe that I loved and this is it! I use a glaze that consists of strawberries, a squeeze of orange sugar and some water, add cornstarch and whoa-la a yummy glaze. I also use the rest of the heavy cream and turn it into whipped cream. My whole family of 40+ people thank you for this shortcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Fabulous!!! I had to add an extra egg (my first one was small) and a dash of fat free milk to get the batter to stick together. The shortcakes were not dry at all once baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Delicious. Next time I'll puree some of the strawberries for more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
OK, really lovely shortcake. I didn't want to make minor changes, had too. I have been trying to come up with some sweet things for my DH who needs to bring his cholesterol down. I followed it exactly as written except I used non dairy creamer. I was nervous that it would ruin it. It came out wonderful. Light, airy, perfectly sweetened, super easy. I served it with fresh strawberries and blueberries and lite whipped topping. Just great. Honey, didn't notice a thing. And he is the beaker of detection on things nonfat, sugar free, diet, missing out kind of stuff. I am so confident now that next time I am using Splenda. 5 stars from me! Have made this a few times now.Still 5 stars! The best shortcake we have ever had! Wanted to add in a few thoughts... The recipe does not give detailed instructions on how to mix this. I am not very good making light pastry stuff. My pie crusts for example need work. Reading the reviews, it is important NOT to handle the dough much. The less the better. So I did things like whipping the egg in with the cream, added the dry ingredients and mixed really well before moving on, and I just used my fingers to the small pieces of cut up butter. Used my hands to gently mix in the end, with a quick roll out with my rolling pin. I followed the ingredients exactly. Did not cut out the cream of tarter as others suggested. Light, delicate, just great!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Can't get any better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELLE04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This came out dry and crumbly for me, but the taste was there so I'll probably work with this recipe again. If you are looking for a spongey shortcake, this is not the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I have NEVER tasted such a delicious shortcake in my life! It was so flavorful and not at all dry! I sliced up my strawberries with an egg slicer, and then pureed another cup of berries to make the berries juicier. I made this for a family event and everyone-adults and kids loved it!! No tartar necessary for this recipe. Will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States