Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
very good; i brushed with cream and sprinkled with raw sugar before baking, which sweetened it nicely and made it look a little less pale and more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BK
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I love this, it was terrific. I followed the advice of others to reduce the baking powder to 3 tablespoons and omitted the cream of tartar. Because I haven't made something like this before, I was worried the dough was too crumbly, but after kneading it, it all quickly came together -- so that's apparently how it should be. The only other thing I did differently was added a little bit of lemon zest, which gave them a nice flavor. I'm sure they're great with or without. I don't think I'll be able to eat store-bought shortbread again! Highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Coming out of the bowl the dough is very crumbly and not cohesive in the slightest. Worked at it a bit until it came together. This was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I made this with the other reviewers suggestions (cut out the cream of tartar and reduce the baking powder) and I also added some lemon extract...I think this gave it a very refreshing taste. I also made 12 individual shortcakes (roll them in balls and flatten them slightly) and it turned out great! So easy to make and looks like you spent more time on it than you really did. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I made this recipe for Mother's Day, and it was a huge hit! I followed the advice of other reviewers and I did not add the cream of tartar and I decreased the baking powder to 3 tsp. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Good but not fabulous. The shortcakes tasted much like any other from scratch biscuit like shortcake I've had. I'll use this again, but it's not "heavenly."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Fabulous! Kind of like a great shortbread cookie, only more moist. The whole family loved it. I did omit the cream of tarter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
maybe i didnt make them right but what i did make wasnt scrumptous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
the biscuit is phenominal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bttrflybabydoll
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I will definitely use this recipe again. It turned out beautifully! Next time I will roll the dough thinner though because mine were too thick. Still very good though! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bttrflybabydoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States