Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
It was a little dry for my taste, but I probably overcooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Yummy shortcake - tasted a lot like shortbread to me. I followed the advice of others and omitted the cream of tartar and decreased the baking powder to 3T. I also used fat free milk in place of the heavy cream. My new favorite recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
After reading a TON of reviews and adding my own touch ....I compiled suggestions and came up with the following - which turned out beautifully... 3 C flour, 3/4c sugar, 4 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/8 tsp cream of tarter and 1 tsp vanilla - mix dry - shave 1 c frozen butter into mix. Mix together 1 beaten egg with 1 1/4 c heavy cream and pour into dry mix. Knead on floured surface for two mins. Roll out to about 1/2" thick and cut into circles (I used a large glass). Place your circles in a buttered pan, brush with heavy cream, sprinkle with generous amt of sugar and bake at 350 for 20 mins. Remove from pan to cooling rack immediatley so that the bottoms do not burn. I used a strawberry glaze recipe with the strawberrys and mixed 1 c sugar + 1 tsp almond extract with a large carton of heavy whipping cream. Family can not stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
These were YUMMY!!! I followed the advice of other reviews and omitted the cream of tartar and only used 3 tsp of baking powder. I also used fat-free evaporated milk in place of heavy cream to reduce the fat. Soooo good, I didn't miss the cream at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This was very easy to make and delicious. I realized after making and eating them that this recipe is basically the same as for scones. These are very light and fluffy on the inside and nicely crispy outside. I also left out the cream of tartar, decreased baking powder to 1T (3 teaspoons) and added 1 tsp. vanilla. I used real butter but had to substitute half-and-half, as I did not have heavy cream. I tried making into squares but the dough was too sticky (from the heat and humidity of the season). I would definitely use others suggestions and shape into balls, flatten and then sprinkle with sugar before baking. I am going to try other variations for scones. Wonderful recipe...and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
The shortcake has a very nice flavor! Probably the best I've ever had. Mine was slightly crumbly but the flavor made up for it. I sliced my strawberries thin and added a little extra sugar. I also sprinkled the shortcake with sugar. EXCELLENT summer treat!! Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
A little light on flavour. I added some lemon zest but will put some vanilla in next time. Easy and quick, nice for a breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was very good. Made it without the cream of tartar & 3 tsp of baking powder. (Just thought I'd go with the opinion of the group) My husband and daughter loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Wow! This is THE only shortcake recipe I will ever use! I picked fresh strawberries and was looking for a homemade shortcake. All I heard was, "oh my God, this is too good Mom!" Thanks for the post, Sal ... strawberry season just got even better!!! PS: I did omit the cream of tartar and reduced the baking powder down to 3 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Netcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
very good; i brushed with cream and sprinkled with raw sugar before baking, which sweetened it nicely and made it look a little less pale and more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States