Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Awww you can't go wrong with this recipe made for the kids this summer and it was a big hit now whenever they come over to my hous they ask for this...made as directed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Not my favorite dessert - I always experienced an angle food cake or sponge cake version but had good reviews from those who like this traditional cake. Made individual serving size rounds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was amazing! It's so much more satisfying than a large cakey piece. A little goes a long way. Yum! We (1) reduced the baking powder and (2) omitted the cream of tartar. Thanks Sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I don't really know what I did wrong but I didn't think this was fantastic. It calls for a lot of butter and I don't usually make high fat bake goods but I thought I'd give it a try. It must be my error though because everyone loves it. I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
heavy, buttery, but bland biscuits. could have used salt. scrumptious? maybe with gravy, as dessert not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I made these for a family that just had twins, and they absolutely loved it!! I am making them for a guest and my family tomorrow!! Can't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
3tsp. baking powder no cream of tarter used french vanilla non dairy creamer(but would go half w/milk next time) and learned a new method of adding butter (grating frozen, worked so good I'll try it with my pie crust recipes) used milk wash for tops prior to oven will use egg next time as I'd have liked them to brown more. Excellent texture a bit lighter then a scone. This is going to be part of a fresh peach shortcake so the extra vanilla from the cream will complement it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
As everyone seems to do, I left out the cream of tartar and used only baking powder. I halved the recipe and divided it into 4 portions, which were generous but not overly large servings. The shortcake was a little on the dry side. 3 of us ate them sandwiched with whipped cream and diced strawberries, mango, and blueberries. The 4th person added vanilla ice cream, which she claimed dealt nicely with the dryness. Overall it was tasty, but I might try another recipe looking for something moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I followed the suggestions of others omitting 1 tsp of baking powder and the cream of tartar. It was the best strawberry shortcake I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
It was a little dry for my taste, but I probably overcooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States