Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Wonderful! I froze the butter and grated it instead of cutting it in, worked perfectly. I also brushed the tops with egg white wash and sprinkled some sugar crystals on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
To those who thought this was not sweet enought or would be moist, etc. Shortcake like this is more like a biscuit and less like cake. It is not like the little round cakes you buy in the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Made with no changes. I did drizzle blackberry syrup over the top and added a few blackberries to the strawberries. Very good, will make this again. Next time I will make them thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I have no idea what went wrong, but this was bitter and just BAD. The texture was nice, but the flavor was just awful. I served it to a large group and they scraped the strawberries & cream off to eat without the shortcake. I will experiment tomorrow and see what I can improve on. I must say, I didn't think there was enough sugar in the recipe, but trusted the reviewers. I have no clue what went wrong, but will get back with any further findings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackwood13

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Holy moly!!! I made little rounds instead of squares and added some of the strawberry glaze. So delicious!! The shortcakes were out of this world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I expected this cake to be moist and tasty. It was very dry and flavorless. I'm sure it is more authentic but I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Con C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Pretty good! Mine didn't puff up like I had hoped, but I'm sure that was only on my part.The flavor of this shortcake is wonderful however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I was looking for a shortcake recipe that didn't use sponge cake, and I found a great one in this recipe! I served this for a dinner party, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan  and Alison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I trust this site & its user reviews for a lot of the things I make. I followed a majority of opinions and omitted the cream of tartar. They turned out wonderfully. I would recommend this to anyone, the recipe is simple, no need for tons of experience. A big hit with everyone who has tried them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this for my daughter's birthday party and it was such a hit!!!! I omitted the cream of tarter like the other reviews and mashed half of my strawberries with some sugar and used homemade whiped cream. It was so good that we had a few kids licking thier plates clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States